Skip to content

Working Holiday Visas from Japan: Country Matrix & Age Limits

Japan has working holiday arrangements with 32 countries and regions (as of 1 April 2026), letting Japanese nationals aged 18 to 30 holiday abroad and take incidental work to fund the trip.1 The Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MOFA, 外務省) sets a common baseline, but each partner sets its own age wording, annual places, funds, insurance and work rules. This guide compares all 32 partners, details the most-used schemes, and lists what to settle in Japan before you leave.

Annual visa grant numbers and long-term trends are covered in the article on official statistics on Japanese living abroad; this guide covers eligibility, conditions and the application process.

What Is the Working Holiday Scheme and How Does Japan’s Network Compare?

Section titled “What Is the Working Holiday Scheme and How Does Japan’s Network Compare?”

The Purpose: Holiday First, Work Incidental

Section titled “The Purpose: Holiday First, Work Incidental”

A working holiday (Wakingu Horide ワーキング・ホリデー) is a holiday visa that permits work, not a work visa. MOFA describes bilateral arrangements (二国・地域間の取決め等) under which each side lets young people from the other enter mainly for a holiday and take incidental work to supplement their travel and living funds, with the aim of mutual understanding.1 Japan’s first arrangement was with Australia in 1980.12

Host governments agree. The German Embassy in Tokyo writes “It is not a working visa!”, and Australia’s Department of Home Affairs suggests a work visa if work is your main purpose.34

MOFA lists the main conditions that generally apply across all partners (as of October 2026).1 Each partner words them differently, so treat this list as a baseline:

  • You are a Japanese national living in Japan.
  • You intend mainly to spend a holiday in the partner country or region.
  • You are 18 to 30 at the time of the visa application. With Australia, Canada, South Korea and Ireland the arrangement says 18 to 25, but applicants up to 30 may apply where that government’s authorities allow.
  • You are not accompanied by children or other dependants.
  • You hold a valid passport and a return ticket, or the funds to buy one, plus funds for the first part of your stay.
  • You are in good health.
  • You have not been issued a working holiday visa by that partner before, unless the arrangement has been revised.

The binding detail sits with each partner, not with MOFA. MOFA tells applicants to check the partner’s embassy or consulate in Japan; for Taiwan, that is the Taipei Economic and Cultural Representative Office in Japan.1 The age test applies on the application date: Australia, for example, can still grant the visa if you apply at 30 and turn 31 before the decision.4

Partners apply the “living in Japan” condition differently (as of October 2026). Canada requires an address in Japan, Germany asks for proof of address such as a registration sheet or a recent gas bill, South Korea asks for a residence certificate (Juminhyo 住民票), and Hong Kong requires residence in the home country.5367 Australia, the UK and New Zealand base eligibility on citizenship and passport, and their pages state no residence-in-Japan condition.489

One Visa per Partner, With Recent Exceptions

Section titled “One Visa per Partner, With Recent Exceptions”

The default is one working holiday per partner. MOFA records revisions dated 1 December 2024 (New Zealand, Canada, the UK, Denmark and Austria), 1 January 2025 (Germany, Ireland and Slovakia), 1 October 2025 (South Korea) and 1 February 2026 (Taiwan).1 For Japanese nationals, the result is a second participation in Canada, Slovakia, South Korea and Taiwan, while the UK has allowed stays of up to 2 years in one visa since 2008 (as of October 2026).12

The other revisions run one way only. The changes with New Zealand, Denmark, Austria, Germany and Ireland let their nationals come to Japan twice but give Japanese nationals no second visa (as of October 2026).1 New Zealand, the UK, France and Hong Kong confirm on their own pages that a Japanese participant can take part only once.98107

Canada and South Korea publish their own start dates. IRCC (Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada) dates Canada’s second participation from 1 April 2025, while 1 December 2024 is MOFA’s date for the revised arrangement.51 The Korean Embassy dates its rule from 1 October 2025; in both schemes, past participants may take part once more.56

Do not confuse a second participation with Australia’s second and third visas, which are earned through specified work (see the working rights section).1112

Global Destination Matrix: 32 Partners, Places, Age Ceilings and Stay Length

Section titled “Global Destination Matrix: 32 Partners, Places, Age Ceilings and Stay Length”

MOFA lists every partner, its start year and the annual places for Japanese nationals (as of 1 April 2026; no later edition was found as of October 2026).12 “No cap” means no annual limit in the Japan-to-partner direction; where directions differ, the figure is for Japanese nationals going to the partner.

# Partner Start Annual places for Japanese nationals Second participation for Japanese nationals
1 Australia 1980 No cap No (further visas only through specified work)
2 New Zealand 1985 No cap No
3 Canada 1986 6,283 Yes
4 South Korea 1999 10,000 Yes (from 1 October 2025)
5 France 2000 (MOFA’s English page: provisionally from December 1999) 1,800 No
6 Germany 2000 No cap No
7 United Kingdom 2001 6,000 No (up to 2 years in one visa)
8 Ireland 2007 800 No
9 Denmark 2007 No cap No
10 Taiwan 2009 10,000 Yes (from 1 February 2026)
11 Hong Kong 2010 1,500 No
12 Norway 2013 No cap No
13 Portugal 2015 No cap No
14 Poland 2015 500 No
15 Slovakia 2016 400 Yes (from 1 January 2025)
16 Austria 2016 200 No
17 Hungary 2017 200 No
18 Spain 2017 700 No
19 Argentina 2017 200 (Argentina to Japan: 400) No
20 Chile 2018 200 No
21 Iceland 2018 30 No
22 Czech Republic 2018 400 No
23 Lithuania 2019 100 No
24 Sweden 2020 No cap No
25 Estonia 2020 No cap (Estonia to Japan: 100) No
26 Netherlands 2020 200 No
27 Uruguay 2023 100 No
28 Finland 2023 No cap (Finland to Japan: 200) No
29 Latvia 2023 100 No
30 Luxembourg 2024 100 No
31 Malta 2026 100 No
32 Italy 2026 500 No

Source: MOFA, as of 1 April 2026.1 Check the partner’s embassy page before applying.

The age baseline is 18 to 30 for every partner.1 Stay length and other conditions are set by each partner: Table 2 covers ten destinations, and for the other 22 the partner’s embassy or consulate in Japan publishes the binding conditions.1

Table 2: Detailed Conditions for the Most-Used Destinations

Section titled “Table 2: Detailed Conditions for the Most-Used Destinations”

Every figure in this table is volatile (as of October 2026) and comes from the destination’s immigration authority or its embassy in Japan. “Check the embassy page” marks a point no official page could confirm for this guide.

Destination Age at application Maximum stay Minimum funds Health insurance Application channel Fee
Australia (subclass 417)41314 18 to 30; apply by midnight Australian Eastern time on the day before turning 31 12 months from first entry; up to 2 further 417 visas through specified work Usually about AUD 5,000, plus the fare for leaving Australia Not required; strongly recommended; Japan has no reciprocal health care agreement with Australia Online (ImmiAccount); first visa applied for and decided outside Australia AUD 840 for a first 417; AUD 1,000 for any other 417 applicant (from 1 July 2026)
Canada (IEC Working Holiday)51516 18 to 30 inclusive Up to 12 months per participation; 2 participations CAD 2,500 Mandatory for the whole stay (medical care, hospitalisation, repatriation) IRCC online: profile, invitation, work permit application, port of entry letter IEC fee CAD 184.75 plus open work permit holder fee CAD 100; biometrics CAD 85 if required
United Kingdom (Youth Mobility Scheme)17818 18 to 30 when you apply Up to 24 months GBP 2,530 held for 28 days in a row Immigration Health Surcharge GBP 776 a year (GBP 1,552 for 2 years), paid with the application Online, from outside the UK GBP 340
New Zealand91920 18 to 30 Up to 12 months, plus up to 3 months through the Working Holiday Extension Work Visa after seasonal work NZD 4,200, plus ticket money on top Not required for the Japan scheme; Immigration New Zealand may ask for proof of medical insurance Online From NZD 770
Ireland121 18 to 25, up to 30 where the authorities allow (MOFA) Up to 1 year Check the embassy page Check the embassy page Application form emailed to the Embassy in Tokyo during fixed windows Check the embassy page
Germany31 18 to 30 (MOFA; confirm with the Embassy) 1 year; no extension in Germany EUR 2,000 (EUR 4,000 without a return ticket) Mandatory: health insurance of at least EUR 30,000 plus liability or accident insurance of at least EUR 30,000 Appointment at the Embassy in Tokyo or the Consulate General in Osaka-Kobe, or at the local foreigners’ authority after entering Germany Free for Japanese citizens
France10 18 to 30 (until the day before the 31st birthday) 1 year; mainland France only; no extension or change of status Bank balance of at least EUR 3,100, plus the return airfare Mandatory: illness, injury and hospitalisation for 1 year from arrival; credit-card insurance not accepted In person by appointment at the Embassy’s consular section in Tokyo Free
South Korea (H-1)61 18 to 25, up to 30 where the authorities allow (MOFA); applicants over 25 submit a statement of reasons Check the embassy page Bank balance certificate required; amount not stated Mandatory: at least 10 months and at least KRW 40 million The Embassy’s designated working holiday desk only (from 1 July 2026) Check the embassy page
Taiwan122 18 to 30 (MOFA) 180 days, extendable once in Taiwan to 1 year from entry (Yokohama Branch terms) ¥250,000 or more (Yokohama Branch terms) Overseas travel insurance for 1 year or more (Yokohama Branch terms) Taipei Economic and Cultural Representative Office in Japan, at the office for your prefecture Free (Yokohama Branch terms)
Hong Kong7 18 to 30 Up to 12 months; extension not normally considered At least HKD 20,000 “Sufficient medical insurance” Online application to the Immigration Department (e-Visa) Free for Japanese citizens

How to Read the Matrix: Places, Timing and Competition

Section titled “How to Read the Matrix: Places, Timing and Competition”

“No cap” and a fixed number of places work differently. Nine partners set no annual limit for Japanese nationals: Australia, New Zealand, Germany, Denmark, Norway, Portugal, Sweden, Estonia and Finland (as of October 2026).1 The official pages reviewed for this guide do not say whether or when any capped scheme runs out of places, so check early in the year.

Allocation methods also differ (as of October 2026). Canada invites candidates from a pool in rounds of invitations, Ireland accepts applications only in fixed windows, and Hong Kong approves qualified applications first-come, first-served within its quota.23217

Big Three Deep Dive: Australia (Subclass 417), Canada (IEC), and UK (Youth Mobility Scheme)

Section titled “Big Three Deep Dive: Australia (Subclass 417), Canada (IEC), and UK (Youth Mobility Scheme)”

Australia: Working Holiday Visa (Subclass 417)

Section titled “Australia: Working Holiday Visa (Subclass 417)”

Japanese passport holders can apply from 18 to 30 (as of October 2026); the limit of 35 applies only to some other passports, such as those of Canada, France, Ireland and the UK.4 You must enter within 12 months of grant, time spent outside Australia does not extend the 12-month stay, and Home Affairs expects average processing of around three months.4

The visa application charge is AUD 840 for a first 417 and AUD 1,000 for any other 417 applicant from 1 July 2026 (as of October 2026).13 Home Affairs strongly recommends health insurance because you are personally liable for all healthcare costs, and Japan has no Reciprocal Health Care Agreement with Australia.414

You can do any kind of work and study for up to 4 months (17 weeks), usually with only 6 months per employer under visa condition 8547.424 Dependent children cannot accompany you at any time.4

Canada: International Experience Canada (IEC) Working Holiday

Section titled “Canada: International Experience Canada (IEC) Working Holiday”

Japan’s only IEC category, Working Holiday, gives an open work permit for most employers anywhere in Canada (as of October 2026).2526 You also need a valid Japanese passport for the whole stay, because the work permit cannot outlast it, and a round-trip ticket or the money for a departure ticket.5

Applying is a multi-step online process (as of October 2026). You create a profile and enter a pool; if invited, you have 10 days to accept and then 20 days to submit the work permit application.2315 IRCC’s service standard is 56 days, and approval brings a port of entry letter that you present on arrival.2728

Insurance shorter than your stay shortens your permit. IRCC issues a work permit that expires when your insurance does, so buy cover for medical care, hospitalisation and repatriation for the full period, ideally after the port of entry letter arrives.1528 A medical exam is required before applying if you plan to work in health, primary or secondary education, or child or elderly care, or recently spent 6 months or more in certain countries.15

United Kingdom: Youth Mobility Scheme Visa

Section titled “United Kingdom: Youth Mobility Scheme Visa”

Japanese nationals aged 18 to 30 apply directly; there is no ballot for Japan (as of October 2026).8 The GOV.UK eligibility page names Hong Kong (SAR passport) and Taiwan as ballot countries, and Japanese nationals have applied directly since early 2024, when the allocation rose from 1,500 to 6,000.829 The 2026 allocation for Japan is 6,000 places.29

The visa lasts up to 24 months, and you may enter and leave freely (as of October 2026).17 Savings of GBP 2,530 must be held for at least 28 days in a row, with day 28 within 31 days of applying.8 You apply from outside the UK, up to 6 months before travel, and a decision usually comes within 3 weeks.3017

Work is broadly open, with clear limits. You can work in most jobs and be self-employed only if your premises are rented, your equipment is worth no more than GBP 5,000 and you have no employees; professional sport is barred.17 Only nationals of Australia, Canada and New Zealand can extend, so a Japanese participant’s stay ends at 24 months, and you cannot apply if you have already been in the UK under the scheme.178

The three schemes differ most on length, extension route and insurance model (as of October 2026). The comparison ranks nothing.141351617818

Feature Australia (417) Canada (IEC) United Kingdom (YMS)
Maximum stay 12 months per visa; up to 3 visas through specified work 12 months per participation; 2 participations 24 months in one visa; no extension
Annual places for Japan No cap 6,283 6,000
Funds Usually about AUD 5,000, plus onward fare CAD 2,500 GBP 2,530, held 28 days
Health cover Recommended, not required Mandatory for the whole stay Immigration Health Surcharge paid with the application
Main fees AUD 840 (first visa) CAD 184.75 plus CAD 100 GBP 340 plus the surcharge
Main work limit Usually 6 months per employer Medical exam for some occupations Self-employment conditions; no professional sport
Section titled “Other Popular Destinations: New Zealand, Ireland, Germany, France, South Korea and Taiwan”

New Zealand allows temporary jobs for up to 12 months and study or training for up to 6 months, but no permanent job or business ownership (as of October 2026).9 The Japan scheme is exempt from New Zealand’s working holiday insurance rule, though Immigration New Zealand may ask for proof of medical insurance.199 After at least 3 months of seasonal horticulture or viticulture work, you can apply for up to 3 more months through the Working Holiday Extension Work Visa.20

Ireland accepts emailed application forms only in fixed windows (as of October 2026). In 2026 these were 15 January to 6 February (travel by 30 September 2026) and 15 to 31 July (travel from 1 October 2026 to 20 March 2027).21 Age wording, funds, insurance and fees could not be confirmed on an Irish official page for this guide, so check the Embassy’s pages.

Germany asks for a CV and motivation letter, and Japanese citizens may also apply at the local foreigners’ authority (Ausländerbehörde) after entering (as of October 2026).3 Language courses may not exceed 20 hours a week or run full time for the whole stay, and you may work for one employer for at most one year in total.3 The national visa also allows tourist visits to other Schengen countries for up to 90 days in any 180.3

France wants a health certificate and bank certificate each issued within 1 month, and the Embassy states that it recognises no intermediary or agency (as of October 2026).10

South Korea accepts no travel agency applications under its desk-only procedure, and stay length, the funds amount and the fee were not stated on the Embassy pages reviewed for this guide (as of October 2026).6

Taiwan offers a second participation from 1 February 2026 (as of October 2026).1 The Representative Office’s Yokohama Branch publishes a 180-day visa extendable once in Taiwan to 1 year from entry, a bank balance of ¥250,000 or more, travel insurance for 1 year or more and no visa fee; other offices may publish their own versions, so check the office for your prefecture (as of October 2026).22

Hong Kong limits Japanese citizens to 6 months with one employer and courses totalling up to 6 months, and rules out permanent employment (as of October 2026).7

Proof of Funds and Financial Requirements at Immigration Entry

Section titled “Proof of Funds and Financial Requirements at Immigration Entry”

Funds are checked at different points (as of October 2026). The UK, Germany, France, South Korea and Hong Kong want evidence with the application, for example a German bankbook covering 3 months or a blocked account.831067 Australia recommends sending evidence with the application, and New Zealand may ask for it after you apply.49

Carry proof when you travel as well. Canada may ask to see your insurance on arrival, Germany recommends carrying proof of funds and insurance, and New Zealand may refuse entry if you cannot show onward travel or the money to leave (as of October 2026).2839 Amounts are not converted into yen here because exchange rates move.

Return Ticket or Funds for One, and Insurance as a Financial Requirement

Section titled “Return Ticket or Funds for One, and Insurance as a Financial Requirement”

MOFA’s baseline requires a return ticket or the funds to buy one, on top of living funds.1 New Zealand and France both say the ticket money is separate from the living-funds figure (as of October 2026).910

Insurance is a visa condition in some schemes and only advice in others (as of October 2026). It is mandatory for Canada, Germany, France, South Korea and Hong Kong, recommended but not required for Australia and New Zealand’s Japan scheme, and replaced by the Immigration Health Surcharge in the UK.53106741918 Choosing a policy that matches each wording is covered in the guide to health insurance for digital nomads and long-term travellers.

Working Rights: Employer Limits, Study Limits and Second-Year Extensions

Section titled “Working Rights: Employer Limits, Study Limits and Second-Year Extensions”

Employer, Occupation and Study Restrictions

Section titled “Employer, Occupation and Study Restrictions”

None of the schemes verified for this guide caps weekly working hours (as of October 2026). Their limits fall on time with one employer, type of work and length of study; Germany’s 20-hour weekly limit applies only to language courses.42451793107 Work rules for South Korea, Taiwan and Ireland could not be confirmed on official pages.

Australia’s condition 8547 usually limits you to 6 months with the same employer, counted as elapsed time, not hours (as of October 2026).24 You may exceed it without permission if you work in different locations with no more than 6 months at any one, in plant and animal cultivation anywhere in Australia, or in certain industries in northern Australia only; check Home Affairs for any other current exemptions.24 The 6 months resets when a second Working Holiday visa or a bridging visa takes effect.24

Know your workplace rights before you start. MOFA reports cases of participants who were underpaid or suffered sexual or power harassment, and recommends researching local labour law in advance.1 In Australia, the Australian Taxation Office (ATO) confirms that working holiday makers (WHMs) have the same workplace rights as everyone else under the National Employment Standards.31

Second and Third Years: Australia’s Specified Work vs Second Participation Elsewhere

Section titled “Second and Third Years: Australia’s Specified Work vs Second Participation Elsewhere”

Australia’s second 417 requires 3 months (88 days) of specified work on the first visa, and the third requires 6 months (179 days) on the second (as of October 2026).1112 The days count as the days or shifts a full-time employee would work, and the work can be split across employers but not compressed into a shorter calendar span.1112 The specified-work exemption for UK passport holders applying from 1 July 2024 does not cover Japanese passports.11

Specified work covers set industries in set areas (as of October 2026). It includes plant and animal cultivation, fishing and pearling, tree farming and felling, and mining and construction in regional Australia, plus tourism and hospitality in Northern or Remote and Very Remote Australia and some disaster recovery work.32 The work must be paid under Australian law and awards, and evidence includes pay slips, Australian bank statements and employer references.3211

Elsewhere, more time means a new participation or a short extension, as the flowchart shows (as of October 2026).151720

flowchart TD
    A["Want more than 12 months on a working holiday?"] --> B{"Which destination?"}
    B -->|"United Kingdom"| C["Up to 24 months in one YMS visa; no extension"]
    B -->|"Australia"| D["88 days of specified work on the first visa"]
    D --> E["Second 417 visa: 12 months"]
    E --> F["179 days of specified work on the second visa"]
    F --> G["Third 417 visa: 12 months"]
    B -->|"Canada, Slovakia, South Korea, Taiwan"| H["Apply for a second participation under that partner's rules"]
    B -->|"New Zealand"| I["At least 3 months of seasonal horticulture or viticulture work"]
    I --> J["Extension Work Visa: up to 3 more months"]
    B -->|"Other partners"| K["One participation only: look at other visa types"]

Changing to another visa is a separate application with its own rules, covered in the guides to studying abroad, working abroad after graduation, skilled migration and each destination’s relocation guide. In Australia, being granted another visa, even a visitor ETA, after the Working Holiday grant ends the Working Holiday visa on the date of that grant (as of October 2026).4

Taxation on Working Holiday Earners: Avoiding Withholding Traps

Section titled “Taxation on Working Holiday Earners: Avoiding Withholding Traps”

Australia: Working Holiday Maker Tax Rates and Employer Registration

Section titled “Australia: Working Holiday Maker Tax Rates and Employer Registration”

Australia taxes most WHMs at special rates if they hold a 417 or 462 visa and are foreign residents for tax, or Australian residents not from a non-discrimination article (NDA) country.33 The table shows the ATO’s published 2025-26 rates, identical to 2024-25; no 2026-27 table could be confirmed for this guide, so check the ATO for the current year (as of October 2026).33

Taxable income (AUD) Tax on this income (2025-26)
0 to 45,000 15c for each AUD 1
45,001 to 135,000 AUD 6,750 plus 30c for each AUD 1 over 45,000
135,001 to 190,000 AUD 33,750 plus 37c for each AUD 1 over 135,000
190,001 and over AUD 54,100 plus 45c for each AUD 1 over 190,000

Check that your employer is registered with the ATO as a WHM employer. A registered employer withholds 15% on the first AUD 45,000; an unregistered one must use foreign resident rates “starting at 30%” (as of October 2026).31 A Tax File Number (TFN) is not compulsory, but the ATO says you pay more tax without one, and you need not lodge a return if all your income was WHM wages under AUD 45,001 unless you want to claim deductions.31

Japan is on the ATO’s list of eligible NDA countries after the High Court’s 2021 decision in Addy v Commissioner of Taxation (as of October 2026).34 A Japanese WHM who is an Australian tax resident for all or part of the year may be taxed like a resident Australian national, but the ATO’s longstanding view is that WHMs are foreign residents.3435 Residency can change with your purpose, for example a permanent visa application or a long-term lease, so confirm your position with the ATO or a registered tax agent.35

Superannuation and the Departing Australia Superannuation Payment (DASP)

Section titled “Superannuation and the Departing Australia Superannuation Payment (DASP)”

Your employer must pay superannuation for you, and the ATO says this applies regardless of how much you earn (as of October 2026).3136 You claim it through the DASP after your visa has ceased and you have left Australia with no other active visa; unclaimed super moves to the ATO 6 months or more after departure but stays claimable.37

DASP paid to WHMs is taxed at 65% (as of October 2026).3137 The ATO’s super exemption under social security agreements concerns people working temporarily for an overseas employer; totalization is covered in the guide to bilateral social security agreements.36

Canada, the UK and New Zealand: Ordinary Rules Apply

Section titled “Canada, the UK and New Zealand: Ordinary Rules Apply”

In Canada, you need a Social Insurance Number (SIN) to work, applied for soon after arrival.38 The Canada Revenue Agency decides residency by your residential ties and generally taxes non-residents only on Canadian-source income; no special rate for IEC participants appears on IRCC or CRA pages (as of October 2026).39

In the UK, ordinary Income Tax applies. For 2026-27 the Personal Allowance is GBP 12,570, with the 20% basic rate up to GBP 50,270 outside Scotland, and you can apply for a National Insurance number once you live in the UK with the right to work (as of October 2026).4041

In New Zealand, everyone with a job pays tax and needs an Inland Revenue Department (IRD) number; check Inland Revenue for codes and rates.9

The Japan Side: Residence Status, Resident Tax and Year-Two Returns

Section titled “The Japan Side: Residence Status, Resident Tax and Year-Two Returns”

A working holiday also raises questions at home. Whether you stay domiciled and a Japanese tax resident during a 12-month working holiday is covered in the article on temporary absence versus emigration from Japan. Resident tax (Juminzei 住民税) depends on where you are registered on 1 January, as explained in the guide to inhabitant tax rules for departing residents.

Step-by-Step Administrative Procedure & Timeline

Section titled “Step-by-Step Administrative Procedure & Timeline”

Work backwards from your application deadline, because age is tested on the application date and several schemes use fixed windows or short-validity documents (as of October 2026). Japan-side items are covered in dedicated guides.

Timing Action Where Note
T-12 to T-6 months Check your age on the planned application date Partner’s official page Australia and France: apply by the day before your 31st birthday410
T-12 to T-6 months Choose a destination from Table 1; check caps and application windows MOFA and the partner’s page Ireland’s 2026 windows: 15 January to 6 February and 15 to 31 July21
T-12 to T-6 months Check passport validity Partner’s official page New Zealand: valid 3 months after the visa expires; Germany: 3 months beyond the stay; Canada: permit cannot outlast the passport935
T-6 to T-3 months Canada: profile, invitation, work permit application IRCC online 10 days to accept; 20 days to apply; biometrics within 30 days2315
T-6 to T-3 months UK: hold GBP 2,530 for 28 days, then apply (up to 6 months before travel) GOV.UK Surcharge paid with the application17818
T-6 to T-3 months Australia and New Zealand: apply online ImmiAccount; Immigration New Zealand Enter within 12 months of grant or issue49
T-6 to T-3 months South Korea: email pre-consultation, then in-person appointment Korean Embassy’s working holiday desk Health and bank certificates issued within 1 month6
T-3 to T-1 months Germany and France: embassy appointment Embassy in Tokyo (Germany also Osaka-Kobe) Germany: 3 months to 2 weeks before departure; France: up to 3 months before entry310
T-3 to T-1 months Buy insurance meeting the partner’s minimum; secure a return ticket or funds Insurer; airline Canada: cover for the whole stay151
T-1 month to departure Decide whether to file a moving-out notification (Tenshutsu-todoke 転出届) City or ward office See the moving-out notification guide
T-1 month to departure Settle National Health Insurance and National Pension City or ward office See the guides to cancelling health insurance and to voluntary National Pension enrollment
T-1 month to departure Banking, phone number for passcodes, My Number card Bank; city or ward office See the guides to keeping Japanese bank accounts and to the My Number card when moving abroad
On arrival Overseas Residential Registration (Zairyu Todoke 在留届) for stays of 3 months or more Japanese embassy or consulate, or online via ORRnet Passport Act Article 16421
On arrival Get a tax number and open a bank account Host-country authorities TFN, SIN, National Insurance number or IRD number3138419
On return Re-register in Japan if you filed a moving-out notification City or ward office See the moving-out notification guide

Overseas Residential Registration is a legal duty for longer stays. Passport Act Article 16 requires a Japanese passport holder who sets up an address or residence abroad for 3 months or more to notify the local consular officer, and MOFA says this can be done online through ORRnet.421 Shorter trips and emergency help are covered in the guide to consular services and Tabi-Reg.

Japanese Citizens vs. Foreign Residents: Critical Distinctions

Section titled “Japanese Citizens vs. Foreign Residents: Critical Distinctions”

Japan’s arrangements are for Japanese nationals. A foreign national living in Japan cannot use them and must check whether their own country has an arrangement with the destination.1

Rules on applying from a third country vary (as of October 2026). The Australian and UK pages set no home-country residence condition, so a foreign resident of Japan with an eligible passport may be able to apply from Japan; confirm on the page for your passport.4830 Canada sets criteria per country, Hong Kong requires residence in the home country, and the German Embassy in Tokyo accepts only some non-Japanese nationals holding status of residence in Japan.573

Topic Japanese nationals Foreign residents of Japan
Which arrangement applies Japan’s 32 arrangements1 Their own nationality’s arrangement with the destination, if any1
Applying from Japan Standard route; some partners require an address in Japan536 Depends on the destination’s rules for that passport; check the official page4837
Main Japan-side risk of the absence Domicile, resident tax, Zairyu Todoke42 Losing status of residence if away longer than the re-entry permit allows43
Pension Voluntary National Pension enrollment while abroad Lump-sum withdrawal payment, which cancels the insured period it covers

For foreign residents, the absence itself is the main risk. A re-entry permit is valid for up to 5 years and a special re-entry permit (Minashi Sainyukoku みなし再入国許可) for 1 year from departure or until your period of stay ends, if sooner; staying away longer generally ends your status of residence, including permanent residence.43 The article on leaving Japan as a Japanese citizen versus a foreign permanent resident covers this, and the voluntary National Pension and lump-sum withdrawal (Dattai Ichijikin 脱退一時金) guides cover pension choices.

Dual nationals must enter Australia on the passport linked to the Working Holiday visa grant.4

Common Pitfalls & Regulatory Compliance Risks

Section titled “Common Pitfalls & Regulatory Compliance Risks”
  • Missing the age cut-off: age is tested on the application date; Australia and France stop at the day before your 31st birthday.410
  • Using old lists: MOFA lists 32 partners, and Japanese nationals have applied to the UK without a ballot since early 2024.129
  • Assuming a second visa: only Canada, Slovakia, South Korea and Taiwan offer a second participation.1
  • Short UK funds history: GBP 2,530 must be held 28 days in a row.8
  • Short insurance in Canada: the work permit expires with the policy.15
  • Treating it as a work visa: study and employer limits apply (Table 2 and the working rights section).4247
  • Unregistered Australian employer: withholding starts at 30% instead of 15%.31
  • Unclaimed super: it moves to the ATO and is taxed at 65% when claimed.37
  • Agencies: MOFA warns of agency trouble, France recognises no intermediary, and South Korea refuses agency applications.1106
  • Another Australian visa: being granted one after the Working Holiday grant ends the Working Holiday visa.4
  • Unused New Zealand visa: it cannot be deferred or reapplied for.9
  • No Zairyu Todoke: required for stays of 3 months or more.42

Foundations and frameworks

Pension and social security

Overseas employment and work

Destination guides: Americas and Oceania

Destination guides: Europe


  1. Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan, 「ワーキング・ホリデー制度」 (page dated 1 April 2026 / 令和8年4月1日), accessed October 2026, https://www.mofa.go.jp/mofaj/toko/visa/working_h.html (read via Internet Archive capture of 3 October 2026; direct fetch returned HTTP 403) ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10 ↩11 ↩12 ↩13 ↩14 ↩15 ↩16 ↩17 ↩18 ↩19 ↩20 ↩21 ↩22 ↩23 ↩24 ↩25 ↩26 ↩27 ↩28 ↩29 ↩30 ↩31 ↩32

  2. Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan, “The Working Holiday Programmes in Japan” (dated 1 April 2026), accessed October 2026, https://www.mofa.go.jp/j_info/visit/w_holiday/index.html (read via Internet Archive capture of 27 September 2026) ↩ ↩2 ↩3

  3. German Embassy Tokyo, “Visa - Working Holiday”, accessed October 2026, https://japan.diplo.de/ja-ja/service/1032658-1032658 ; and leaflet “Visa for a Working Holiday Visa” (last updated February 2025), https://japan.diplo.de/resource/blob/2802170/346c1dbe106108ce931b2e5c95f390fc/merkblatt-working-holiday-data.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10 ↩11 ↩12 ↩13 ↩14 ↩15

  4. Australian Government Department of Home Affairs, “Working Holiday visa (subclass 417): First Working Holiday visa”, last updated 23 September 2026, accessed October 2026, https://immi.homeaffairs.gov.au/visas/getting-a-visa/visa-listing/work-holiday-417/first-working-holiday-417 ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10 ↩11 ↩12 ↩13 ↩14 ↩15 ↩16 ↩17 ↩18 ↩19 ↩20 ↩21 ↩22

  5. Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada, “International Experience Canada: Eligibility by country and category” (Japan: Working Holiday), accessed October 2026, https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/work-canada/iec/eligibility/eligibility-by-country.html (read via Internet Archive capture of 12 October 2026) ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10 ↩11 ↩12

  6. Embassy of the Republic of Korea in Japan, 「ワーキングホリデー査証(H-1)申請手続き変更のお知らせ」 (19 June 2026, updated 31 July 2026), accessed October 2026, https://overseas.mofa.go.kr/jp-ja/brd/m_1106/view.do?seq=758604 ; 「韓日ワーキング・ホリデー参加回数拡大について(2025年10月1日施行)」 (1 October 2025), https://overseas.mofa.go.kr/jp-ja/brd/m_1106/view.do?seq=758599 ; and the attached H-1 visa document checklist ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9

  7. Immigration Department, Hong Kong SAR Government, “Working Holiday Scheme” (page dated 9 February 2026), accessed October 2026, https://www.immd.gov.hk/eng/services/visas/working_holiday_scheme.html ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10 ↩11

  8. GOV.UK, “Youth Mobility Scheme visa: Eligibility”, accessed October 2026, https://www.gov.uk/youth-mobility/eligibility ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10 ↩11 ↩12 ↩13

  9. Immigration New Zealand, “Japan Working Holiday Visa”, accessed October 2026, https://www.immigration.govt.nz/visas/japan-working-holiday-visa/ ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10 ↩11 ↩12 ↩13 ↩14

  10. Embassy of France in Japan, 「ワーキングホリデービザ」 (published 11 November 2025, updated 4 December 2025), accessed October 2026, https://jp.diplomatie.gouv.fr/ja/visa-vacances-travail ; and checklist 「ワーキングホリデービザ申請 申請書類チェックリスト」, https://jp.diplomatie.gouv.fr/files/jp/files/TK/vvt_liste_pieces_jp_2024.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10 ↩11

  11. Department of Home Affairs, “Second Working Holiday visa (subclass 417)”, last updated 23 September 2026, accessed October 2026, https://immi.homeaffairs.gov.au/visas/getting-a-visa/visa-listing/work-holiday-417/second-working-holiday-417 ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5

  12. Department of Home Affairs, “Third Working Holiday visa (subclass 417)”, accessed October 2026, https://immi.homeaffairs.gov.au/visas/getting-a-visa/visa-listing/work-holiday-417/third-working-holiday-417 ↩ ↩2 ↩3

  13. Federal Register of Legislation, Home Affairs Legislation Amendment (2026 Measures No. 1) Regulations 2026 (F2026L00874), Schedule items 44 and 45 (Migration Regulations 1994, Schedule 1 items 1224A and 1225), commencing 1 July 2026, accessed October 2026, https://www.legislation.gov.au/F2026L00874/asmade/text ↩ ↩2 ↩3

  14. Services Australia, “Reciprocal Health Care Agreements” (last updated 11 July 2024), accessed October 2026, https://www.servicesaustralia.gov.au/reciprocal-health-care-agreements ; and “When Reciprocal Health Care Agreements apply and you visit Australia”, https://www.servicesaustralia.gov.au/when-reciprocal-health-care-agreements-apply-and-you-visit-australia (read via Internet Archive captures) ↩ ↩2

  15. Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada, “International Experience Canada: Submit your work permit application”, accessed October 2026, https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/work-canada/iec/apply-work-permit.html (read via Internet Archive capture of 4 October 2026) ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7

  16. Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada, “Fee list”, accessed October 2026, https://ircc.canada.ca/english/information/fees/fees.asp (read via Internet Archive capture of 4 October 2026) ↩ ↩2

  17. GOV.UK, “Youth Mobility Scheme visa: Overview”, accessed October 2026, https://www.gov.uk/youth-mobility ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9

  18. GOV.UK, “Pay for UK healthcare as part of your immigration application: How much you have to pay”, accessed October 2026, https://www.gov.uk/healthcare-immigration-application/how-much-pay ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4

  19. Immigration New Zealand, “Medical insurance for Working Holiday Visa”, accessed October 2026, https://www.immigration.govt.nz/formshelp/medical-insurance ↩ ↩2 ↩3

  20. Immigration New Zealand, “Working Holiday Extension Work Visa”, accessed October 2026, https://www.immigration.govt.nz/visas/working-holiday-extension-work-visa/ ↩ ↩2 ↩3

  21. Embassy of Ireland, Japan, 「ワーキングホリデー・プログラム」 (2026 application windows), accessed October 2026, https://www.ireland.ie/ja/japan/tokyo/services/visas/working-holiday-programme/ (read via Internet Archive capture of 2 February 2026; direct fetch returned HTTP 403) ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4

  22. Taipei Economic and Cultural Representative Office in Japan, Yokohama Branch, 「停留VISA ワーキング・ホリデー」 (PDF uploaded September 2026), accessed October 2026, https://www.roc-taiwan.org/uploads/sites/54/2026/09/%E5%81%9C%E7%95%99%E3%83%AF%E3%83%BC%E3%82%AD%E3%83%B3%E3%82%B0%E3%83%9B%E3%83%AA%E3%83%87%E3%83%BC.pdf ↩ ↩2

  23. Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada, “International Experience Canada: Create your IEC profile and get your invitation to apply”, accessed October 2026, https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/work-canada/iec/become-candidate.html (read via Internet Archive capture of 4 October 2026) ↩ ↩2 ↩3

  24. Department of Home Affairs, “6 month work limitation” (condition 8547), last updated 21 September 2026, accessed October 2026, https://immi.homeaffairs.gov.au/visas/getting-a-visa/visa-listing/work-holiday-417/6-month-work-limitation ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6

  25. Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada, “International Experience Canada: Who can apply”, modified 7 August 2026, accessed October 2026, https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/work-canada/iec/eligibility.html ↩

  26. Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada, “International Experience Canada: About the program”, accessed October 2026, https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/work-canada/iec/about.html (read via Internet Archive capture of 4 October 2026) ↩

  27. Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada, “International Experience Canada: After you apply, next steps”, accessed October 2026, https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/work-canada/iec/after-apply-next-steps.html (read via Internet Archive capture of 22 September 2026) ↩

  28. Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada, “International Experience Canada: Prepare for your arrival”, accessed October 2026, https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/work-canada/iec/prepare-arrival.html (read via Internet Archive capture of 4 October 2026) ↩ ↩2 ↩3

  29. UK Home Office, “Immigration Rules Appendix Youth Mobility Scheme: eligible nationals” (updated 8 October 2026; change history entry of 31 January 2024, HC 1780 and HC 246), accessed October 2026, https://www.gov.uk/guidance/immigration-rules/immigration-rules-appendix-youth-mobility-scheme-eligible-nationals (earlier versions read via Internet Archive captures of 11 December 2023 and 6 April 2024) ↩ ↩2 ↩3

  30. GOV.UK, “Youth Mobility Scheme visa: Apply”, accessed October 2026, https://www.gov.uk/youth-mobility/apply ↩ ↩2

  31. Australian Taxation Office, “Working holiday makers”, last updated 3 June 2026, accessed October 2026, https://www.ato.gov.au/individuals-and-families/coming-to-australia-or-going-overseas/coming-to-australia/working-holiday-makers (read via Internet Archive capture of 18 September 2026) ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7

  32. Department of Home Affairs, “Specified work for Working Holiday visa (subclass 417)”, last updated 12 October 2026, accessed October 2026, https://immi.homeaffairs.gov.au/visas/getting-a-visa/visa-listing/work-holiday-417/specified-work ↩ ↩2

  33. Australian Taxation Office, “Tax rates – working holiday maker”, last updated 1 June 2026, accessed October 2026, https://www.ato.gov.au/tax-rates-and-codes/tax-rates-working-holiday-makers (read via Internet Archive capture of 3 June 2026; direct fetch returned HTTP 403) ↩ ↩2

  34. Australian Taxation Office, “Taxation of Australian resident WHMs from NDA countries”, last updated 26 June 2025, accessed October 2026, https://www.ato.gov.au/individuals-and-families/coming-to-australia-or-going-overseas/coming-to-australia/taxation-of-australian-resident-whms-from-nda-countries (read via Internet Archive capture of 15 May 2026) ↩ ↩2

  35. Australian Taxation Office, “Australian residency if you’re on a working holiday or visit”, last updated 3 June 2026, accessed October 2026, https://www.ato.gov.au/individuals-and-families/coming-to-australia-or-going-overseas/coming-to-australia/australian-residency-if-you-re-on-a-working-holiday-or-visit (read via Internet Archive capture of 9 June 2026) ↩ ↩2

  36. Australian Taxation Office, “Super from your employer”, last updated 1 July 2026, accessed October 2026, https://www.ato.gov.au/individuals-and-families/super-for-individuals-and-families/super/growing-and-keeping-track-of-your-super/super-from-your-employer (read via Internet Archive capture of 18 September 2026) ↩ ↩2

  37. Australian Taxation Office, “Departing Australia superannuation payment (DASP)”, last updated 21 April 2026, accessed October 2026, https://www.ato.gov.au/individuals-and-families/super-for-individuals-and-families/super/temporary-residents-and-superannuation/departing-australia-superannuation-payment-dasp (read via Internet Archive capture of 10 October 2026) ↩ ↩2 ↩3

  38. Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada, “International Experience Canada: Start working in Canada”, accessed October 2026, https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/work-canada/iec/start-working.html (read via Internet Archive capture of 31 July 2026) ↩ ↩2

  39. Canada Revenue Agency, “Determining your residency status”, modified 20 January 2026, accessed October 2026, https://www.canada.ca/en/revenue-agency/services/tax/international-non-residents/information-been-moved/determining-your-residency-status.html ↩

  40. GOV.UK, “Income Tax rates and Personal Allowances” (tax year 6 April 2026 to 5 April 2027), accessed October 2026, https://www.gov.uk/income-tax-rates ↩

  41. GOV.UK, “Apply for a National Insurance number”, accessed October 2026, https://www.gov.uk/apply-national-insurance-number ↩ ↩2

  42. e-Gov (Digital Agency), Passport Act (旅券法, Act No. 267 of 1951), Article 16, accessed October 2026, https://laws.e-gov.go.jp/law/326AC0000000267 ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4

  43. e-Gov (Digital Agency), Immigration Control and Refugee Recognition Act (出入国管理及び難民認定法, Cabinet Order No. 319 of 1951), Articles 26(3) and 26-2(2), accessed October 2026, https://laws.e-gov.go.jp/law/326CO0000000319 ↩ ↩2