Moving from Japan to Malaysia: Visas, MM2H, Tax, Costs & Schools
Malaysia offers people leaving Japan four main long-stay routes: the Malaysia My Second Home (MM2H) programme, Sarawak’s separate S-MM2H, the DE Rantau pass for remote workers, and the Employment Pass for people hired or transferred to a Malaysian employer. This guide summarises each route, how Malaysia and Japan tax pensions and salaries, what local households spend in Kuala Lumpur and Penang compared with Tokyo, and how renting, healthcare and schooling work, as of October 2026.
Overview & Eligibility Framework
Section titled “Overview & Eligibility Framework”The Japanese Community in Malaysia in Numbers
Section titled “The Japanese Community in Malaysia in Numbers”MOFA counted 19,690 Japanese nationals living in Malaysia on 1 October 2025 (17,923 long-term residents and 1,767 permanent residents), 14th among countries and 1.7% fewer than a year earlier.1 The 2021 count was 27,256, so the community shrank by about 27.8% over four years (derived from MOFA figures, as of October 2026).1
Kuala Lumpur alone had 9,269 Japanese residents, up 5.1% and 24th among cities worldwide.1 Penang and Johor Bahru do not appear in MOFA’s top-50 city table, so there is no official city count for them (as of October 2026).1
Japan is represented by the Embassy in Kuala Lumpur, a Consulate-General in Penang and a Consular Office in Kota Kinabalu. The Consulate-General covers Penang, Perak, Kedah, Perlis, Kelantan and Terengganu, and the Embassy covers the rest of the country.234 The Japan Club of Kuala Lumpur dates from 1963; community and Japanese-language support services have their own guide.5
Four Routes at a Glance
Section titled “Four Routes at a Glance”Each route answers a different question; the table gives one headline figure per route (as of October 2026).
| MM2H | Sarawak S-MM2H | DE Rantau | Employment Pass | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Suits | Retirees and long-stayers with savings | Long-stayers based in Sarawak | Remote workers and freelancers | People hired by a Malaysian employer (local hire or transfer) |
| Administering body | MOTAC’s One Stop Centre MM2H via licensed operators; Immigration Department final approval6 | MTCP Sarawak; Sarawak immigration7 | MDEC; Immigration Department8 | Ministry of Home Affairs and Immigration Department; processed by MYXpats or MIDA’s MES910 |
| Minimum age | 25 (SEZ/SFZ: 21)6 | 307 | Over 188 | Not stated |
| Core money test | Fixed deposit from USD 150,000 (Silver) to USD 1,000,000 (Platinum); SEZ/SFZ USD 65,000 or USD 32,000611 | RM500,000 fixed deposit plus RM10,000 monthly pension or offshore income, or savings7 | USD 24,000 a year (tech) or USD 60,000 (non-tech)8 | Basic monthly salary from RM5,000 (Category III)9 |
| Length | 5 to 20 years by category, renewable612 | 5 + 5 years7 | 3 to 12 months, one renewal, 24 months maximum8 | 1 to 60 months per pass; 5 or 10 years in total by category9 |
| Work | Business or investment only for Platinum6 | Part-time, up to 20 hours a week in approved sectors, with State approval7 | Remote work; freelancers may also serve Malaysian clients8 | For the sponsoring employer9 |
| Where valid | Malaysia | Sarawak713 | Peninsular Malaysia and Labuan only8 | Malaysia |
| Detailed guide | Southeast Asian retirement visas | Southeast Asian retirement visas | Digital nomad visas | This guide; chuzai vs local hire |
flowchart TD
A["Planning a long stay in Malaysia"] --> B{"Job offer from a Malaysian employer?"}
B -- "Yes" --> EP["Employment Pass (employer applies)"]
B -- "No" --> C{"Working remotely for foreign employer or clients?"}
C -- "Yes" --> DR["DE Rantau (Peninsular Malaysia and Labuan only)"]
C -- "No" --> D{"Planning to live in Sarawak?"}
D -- "Yes" --> S["Sarawak S-MM2H"]
D -- "No" --> M["MM2H via a MOTAC-licensed operator"]
Entering Malaysia Before Your Pass Is Issued
Section titled “Entering Malaysia Before Your Pass Is Issued”Japanese nationals can enter Malaysia without a visa for tourism or visits of up to 3 months (90 days), but not for paid activity; MOFA notes that work requires the appropriate visa before entry.1314 A passport with at least 6 months’ validity is required on entry, and fingerprints are recorded at the border.13
The Malaysia Digital Arrival Card (MDAC) has been compulsory for international passengers arriving at Malaysian airports since 1 December 2023. Visitors register online from 3 days before departure; permanent residents and long-term pass holders are excluded (as of October 2026).13 Sabah and Sarawak run their own entry control, so a passport is needed even when flying in from Peninsular Malaysia.13
A visitor’s entry is not a stepping stone to every pass: MDEC states that a tourist pass cannot be converted into a DE Rantau pass.8 Foreign residents of Japan enter on the rules for their own nationality and should check with the Embassy of Malaysia; Malaysian nationals need no pass.
Visa Options: MM2H, Sarawak S-MM2H, DE Rantau and the Employment Pass
Section titled “Visa Options: MM2H, Sarawak S-MM2H, DE Rantau and the Employment Pass”MM2H: Four Categories, Fixed Deposit and Compulsory Home Purchase
Section titled “MM2H: Four Categories, Fixed Deposit and Compulsory Home Purchase”MM2H now has four categories (Silver, Gold, Platinum and SEZ/SFZ), each requiring a US dollar fixed deposit in Malaysia and the purchase of a home that cannot be sold for 10 years except to upgrade.612 Applications go only through a MOTAC-licensed operator; deposits, fees, minimum stays and dependants are covered in the guide to Southeast Asian retirement visas.6
Sarawak S-MM2H: A Separate State Programme
Section titled “Sarawak S-MM2H: A Separate State Programme”Sarawak runs its own S-MM2H programme for applicants aged 30 and over, with a RM500,000 fixed deposit in a Sarawak panel bank, an income or savings test and a minimum of 30 days a year in Sarawak (as of October 2026).7 The pass is valid for Sarawak, which has separate immigration control, and its full conditions are also in the retirement visas guide.713
DE Rantau Nomad Pass for Remote Workers
Section titled “DE Rantau Nomad Pass for Remote Workers”DE Rantau is MDEC’s pass for remote employees of employers not registered in Malaysia and for freelancers, who may also serve Malaysian clients, requiring income of USD 24,000 a year in technology roles or USD 60,000 in other fields (as of October 2026).8 It lasts 3 to 12 months with one 12-month renewal (24 months maximum), is valid only in Peninsular Malaysia and Labuan, needs a Malaysian tax registration slip at endorsement, and rejections cannot be appealed from 1 August 2026.8 Tax, insurance and invoicing questions are covered in the guide to digital nomad visas.
Employment Pass: Categories and the 1 June 2026 Salary Revision
Section titled “Employment Pass: Categories and the 1 June 2026 Salary Revision”Malaysia raised Employment Pass (EP) salary thresholds for new and renewal applications from 1 June 2026, following a Cabinet decision of 17 October 2025 announced by the Ministry of Home Affairs on 14 January 2026.1516 Applications submitted on or after that date are assessed under the revised policy (as of October 2026).169
| Category | Previous minimum salary | From 1 June 2026 | Revised maximum employment duration | Dependants |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| I | RM10,000+ | RM20,000+ | Up to 10 years | Yes |
| II | RM5,000 to RM9,999 | RM10,000 to RM19,999 | Up to 10 years, with succession plan | Yes |
| III | RM3,000 to RM4,999 | RM5,000 to RM9,999 (manufacturing and related services: RM7,000 to RM9,999) | Up to 5 years, with succession plan | Yes (previously no) |
Source: Ministry of Home Affairs and ESD (as of October 2026).15169
The salary test uses basic monthly salary taxable in Malaysia. The official booklet excludes allowances, incentives, bonuses and salary paid outside Malaysia, which matters for Chuzai (駐在) packages split between a Japanese and a Malaysian payroll.9
Two different durations apply. Each pass is issued for 1 to 60 months, subject to the employment contract and Expatriate Committee approval, while the 10-year and 5-year figures are cumulative caps tied to the same employer, position and category, restarting on a change of employer or category.9 The Ministry says the policy is not retrospective and that transitional rules for existing expatriates will be announced, so whether earlier service counts toward the caps is not yet stated (as of October 2026).17
A succession plan becomes mandatory for Category II and III applications from 1 January 2027. The Ministry describes it as the employer’s structured plan to prepare local staff to take over the role, and warns that failure to follow it may affect future applications.1817
Who processes the application depends on the employer. MYXpats, a Talent Corporation Malaysia subsidiary formed with the Immigration Department and the Ministry of Home Affairs, processes the EP and related passes.9 From 1 June 2026, manufacturing and selected services companies under MIDA must file EP, Professional Visit Pass and Dependant Pass applications through the MIDA Expatriate System (MES) instead.10
Spouses on a Dependant Pass need separate permission to work. ESD’s Dependant Pass page points spouses who want to work to an Employment Pass application, so check the current route with ESD or MYXpats.19 Choosing between a transfer and a local contract has its own guide comparing Chuzai and local hire (Genchi Saiyo 現地採用).
Taxation for Japan Expats: Residence, Foreign Income and the Japan-Malaysia Treaty
Section titled “Taxation for Japan Expats: Residence, Foreign Income and the Japan-Malaysia Treaty”Malaysian Tax Residence: The 182-Day Test
Section titled “Malaysian Tax Residence: The 182-Day Test”Malaysian tax residence depends on physical presence, not nationality or the pass you hold. Under section 7 of the Income Tax Act 1967 you are resident if you spend 182 days or more in Malaysia in a year, or a shorter period linked to 182 consecutive days spanning two years, with further rules for repeated 90-day stays.20
Residents are taxed on a progressive scale from 0% to 30% (the LHDN table covers Years of Assessment 2023 to 2025), with personal reliefs.21 Non-residents pay a flat 30% on taxable income with no reliefs, a rate confirmed in Public Ruling 2/2026 (as of October 2026).2022
Employment exercised in Malaysia is Malaysian-source income wherever the contract was signed or the salary is paid, although a non-resident’s employment of no more than 60 days in a basis year is exempt.22 A Malaysian pass does not by itself decide Japanese tax residence, which is covered in the guide to Japanese tax residency rules.
Foreign-Sourced Income, Including Japanese Pensions
Section titled “Foreign-Sourced Income, Including Japanese Pensions”Malaysia is no longer a purely territorial tax system. Foreign income received in Malaysia by residents has been taxable since 1 January 2022, but resident individuals are exempt on foreign income other than partnership income received from 1 January 2022 to 31 December 2026, provided it was subjected to tax in the source country (or not taxed there for listed reasons).23 Pensions are among the listed types of foreign income.23
The exemption is confirmed officially only to 31 December 2026, in both LHDN’s guideline and its Form BE explanatory notes filed in 2026.2324 A news report describes a gazetted extension, but no LHDN page or gazette text confirming it was found as of October 2026, so check LHDN before planning on income remitted after 2026.25
Under Article 18 of the Japan-Malaysia tax treaty, private pensions paid for past employment are taxable only in the state where the recipient lives, subject to Article 19(2) for government service pensions.26 The Japan Pension Service lists Malaysia among treaty countries for relief from Japanese withholding, and pays pensions to Malaysia in US dollars (as of October 2026).2728
Whether a treaty-exempt Japanese pension meets LHDN’s “subjected to tax” condition is not addressed in official guidance, so confirm it with LHDN or an adviser. The Form 9 procedure and retiree budgets are covered in the guides to receiving a Japanese pension overseas and retiring abroad on a Japanese pension; MM2H’s own foreign-income exemption is a Malaysian-side rule only.6
Salaries, Japanese Employers and Double Taxation
Section titled “Salaries, Japanese Employers and Double Taxation”Article 15 of the treaty lets Malaysia tax salaries for work done in Malaysia. Salary stays taxable only in Japan for a Japanese resident who is in Malaysia for no more than 183 days in a calendar year, is paid by or for an employer not resident in Malaysia, and whose pay is not borne by a permanent establishment there.26
Directors’ fees follow Article 16, so fees from a Japanese company to a board member living in Malaysia may still be taxed in Japan.26 Article 22 removes double taxation by credit in each direction, and LHDN allows the bilateral credit only to foreign nationals who are resident for the basis year.262922
EPF and SOCSO for Non-Citizen Employees
Section titled “EPF and SOCSO for Non-Citizen Employees”There is no social security agreement between Japan and Malaysia. Malaysia is absent from the Japan Pension Service list of agreements in force, so there is no certificate exempting you from Malaysian schemes and periods in each country are not combined.30 The guide to social security agreements explains what totalization would have done.
Since October 2025 wages, non-citizen employees with a valid passport and work pass must contribute to the Employees Provident Fund (EPF / KWSP) at 2% from the employer and 2% from the employee, for members under 75, with domestic workers excluded (as of October 2026).31 The rule applies where the employer is registered or incorporated in Malaysia, so a locally employed EP holder is covered while a DE Rantau remote employee of a foreign employer is not (derived from EPF’s criteria).31
PERKESO’s social security cover also extends to foreign workers, including expatriates: the Employment Injury Scheme since 1 January 2019, the Invalidity Scheme since 1 July 2024 and a non-employment injury scheme (LINDUNG 24 JAM) since 1 June 2026.32 Employers pay 1.75% of wages and workers 1.25% initially (the non-employment injury share rises in later years), on wages up to the RM6,000 ceiling in force since 1 October 2024 (as of October 2026).3233
Factor these deductions into salary negotiations. EPF lists a “Leaving the Country Withdrawal” for non-Malaysian members, but its conditions were not confirmed for this guide.31 Voluntary National Pension enrolment for Japanese citizens and the lump-sum withdrawal (Dattai Ichijikin 脱退一時金) for foreign nationals each have their own guides.
Japan-Side Tax Before You Leave
Section titled “Japan-Side Tax Before You Leave”Malaysian tax planning does not close your Japanese obligations. The January 1 rule for resident tax (Juminzei 住民税), tax representatives (Nohzei Kanrinin 納税管理人) and the exit tax each have their own guide.
Cost of Living: Kuala Lumpur and Penang vs. Tokyo
Section titled “Cost of Living: Kuala Lumpur and Penang vs. Tokyo”What Official Household Surveys Show
Section titled “What Official Household Surveys Show”The table compares official household averages, not expatriate budgets. It uses the Department of Statistics Malaysia (DOSM) Household Expenditure Survey 2024 for Kuala Lumpur and Penang, and the Statistics Bureau of Japan’s Family Income and Expenditure Survey (Kakei Chosa 家計調査) 2025 for two-or-more-person households in the Tokyo ward area.3435 Only roughly corresponding categories are shown.
| Mean household consumption spending per month | W.P. Kuala Lumpur (RM) | Pulau Pinang (RM) | Tokyo ward area, 2+ person households (yen, derived: annual ÷ 12) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Housing, water, electricity, gas and fuels (DOSM 04) vs 住居 + 光熱・水道 | 2,497 | 1,427 | 49,707 |
| Transport plus information and communication (DOSM 07 + 08) vs 交通・通信 | 1,338 | 866 | 39,122 |
| Health (DOSM 06) vs 保健医療 | 170 | 163 | 20,276 |
| Education services (DOSM 10) vs 教育 | 84 | 97 | 18,700 |
| Total consumption expenditure | 8,178 | 5,850 | 357,613 |
Sources: DOSM HES 2024, Table 3.1 (monthly means as published); 家計調査 2025, Table 7-1 (annual amounts divided by 12 for this guide). Category pairs are approximate, and the two surveys define housing differently (as of October 2026).3435
The surveys are not like-for-like. DOSM’s housing group includes imputed rent for owner-occupiers, while 家計調査 consumption excludes imputed rent, so the Tokyo housing figure understates housing costs for owners.3435 The Tokyo sample averages 2.90 persons per household, and household composition differs between the surveys.35
For illustration only, at the Japan Customs rate of 38.67 yen per ringgit (18 to 24 October 2026), the Kuala Lumpur total is about ¥316,000 and the Penang total about ¥226,000 a month (derived conversion).36 The Malaysia-wide average is RM5,566.34
Price Levels and the Yen
Section titled “Price Levels and the Yen”On the World Bank’s 2021 price level index for household consumption, Japan scores 142.81 and Malaysia 56.21 (world average = 100), the latest comparison available as of October 2026.37 The ringgit has also strengthened against the yen, from about 25.05 yen in October 2016 to about 39.11 yen in October 2026 on Ministry of Finance rates, so a yen income buys less than it did (derived, as of October 2026).38
Cost Items That Differ for Expatriates
Section titled “Cost Items That Differ for Expatriates”Household averages hide the costs that weigh most on newcomers: condominium rent in expatriate areas, international school fees, private hospital bills and car ownership. No official statistics on these items were found for this guide, so compare current quotes directly. MOFA notes that private hospitals with Japanese-speaking staff are generally expensive and recommends overseas travel insurance.4
Housing: Neighbourhoods, Tenancy Agreements and Property Rules
Section titled “Housing: Neighbourhoods, Tenancy Agreements and Property Rules”Where Japanese Residents Commonly Live
Section titled “Where Japanese Residents Commonly Live”There is no official neighbourhood-level data on where Japanese residents live. In Kuala Lumpur, the Japanese School of Kuala Lumpur and several MOFA-listed hospitals serve the city area, and MOFA’s safety page names Mont Kiara among places where theft is reported, so normal precautions apply.39413
In the north, Penang Island hosts the Consulate-General, a Japanese school and MOFA-listed hospitals.2394 Johor, which includes Johor Bahru across the strait from Singapore, has a Japanese school, and the MM2H SEZ/SFZ category restricts property purchases to Forest City in Johor.3940
Tenancy Agreements and Stamp Duty
Section titled “Tenancy Agreements and Stamp Duty”Malaysia has no dedicated residential tenancy law in force. Tenancy agreements are made under the Contracts Act 1950, according to the housing ministry (KPKT) in Parliament.41 On 4 August 2026 a deputy minister said KPKT was still finalising a Residential Tenancy Bill and that the government would not impose general rent control (as of October 2026).42
Tenancy agreements attract stamp duty under Item 49(a) of the First Schedule to the Stamp Act 1949, charged per RM250 (or part) of annual rent: RM1 for a term up to 1 year, RM3 for over 1 to 3 years, RM5 for over 3 to 5 years and RM7 for over 5 years (as of October 2026).43 No minimum-rent exemption appears in LHDN’s current scale, and rent for terms under a year is annualised.4344 As an illustration (derived), a 1-year tenancy at RM3,000 a month (RM36,000 a year) would carry duty of RM144.43
Instruments must be stamped within 30 days of execution in Malaysia. Late stamping costs RM50 or 10% of the duty (whichever is higher) within 3 months after the deadline, and RM100 or 20% after that, under rules effective from 1 January 2025 (as of October 2026).45 Self-assessment stamping has been phased in from 1 January 2026, starting with tenancy and lease instruments, and leases over 3 years must also be registered under the National Land Code.4443
Buying Property as a Foreigner
Section titled “Buying Property as a Foreigner”Non-citizens need prior State Authority approval to buy land under section 433B of the National Land Code, and individuals who are not citizens or permanent residents pay Real Property Gains Tax of 30% on disposals within 5 years and 10% from the sixth year (as of October 2026).4647 State-level rules and the Japanese tax position are covered in the guide to buying overseas property from Japan.
Healthcare: Private Hospitals, Japanese-Language Support and Insurance
Section titled “Healthcare: Private Hospitals, Japanese-Language Support and Insurance”Public and Private Care
Section titled “Public and Private Care”MOFA describes Malaysia’s large private hospitals as well equipped but notes that private hospitals and clinics will not treat people who cannot pay, and that treatment costs are high compared with Japan, so it recommends overseas travel insurance.4
Hospitals With Japanese-Language Services
Section titled “Hospitals With Japanese-Language Services”MOFA lists Prince Court Medical Centre and Gleneagles Kuala Lumpur in Kuala Lumpur, and Island Hospital in Penang, as having Japanese-speaking staff, while Gleneagles Penang is listed as English-only.4 MOFA lists further facilities in both cities, and some Japanese-language services are interpreters rather than Japanese doctors (as of October 2026).4 Full hospital lists, interpreter arrangements and elderly care are covered in the guide to Japanese-language support for retirees abroad.
Insurance and Cashless Billing
Section titled “Insurance and Cashless Billing”Several passes require health insurance: MM2H for applicants aged 60 and below, S-MM2H (local medical insurance) for applicants below 60, and DE Rantau cover valid in Malaysia; EP dependants are subject to insurance requirements (as of October 2026).67817 MOFA says the hospitals it lists generally accept major credit cards and large insurers’ cashless services, but advises confirming in advance.4
Policy choices, Japanese overseas medical expense claims (Kaigai Ryoyohi 海外療養費) and evacuation cover are covered in the guides to senior healthcare abroad and to health insurance for nomads. For long-term care, the Private Aged Healthcare Facilities and Services Act (Act 802) has been gazetted but is not in force, and the Care Centres Act 1993 (Act 506) remains relevant (as of October 2026).48
Schooling: International Schools and Japanese Schools in Malaysia
Section titled “Schooling: International Schools and Japanese Schools in Malaysia”How International Schools Are Regulated
Section titled “How International Schools Are Regulated”Every educational institution in Malaysia must be registered under section 79 of the Education Act 1996, and section 15 places expatriate and international schools outside the National Education System.49 The Ministry of Education defines an expatriate school as one using the curriculum and official language of its home country with that country’s embassy’s approval.50
No official list or count of registered international schools was found for this guide, and curricula and fees are set by each school, so check registration and fee schedules directly.
Passes for Children
Section titled “Passes for Children”Children of EP holders under 18 can join on a Dependant Pass, whose validity follows the principal’s pass, and children aged 18 to 25 can hold a Long-Term Social Visit Pass.919 MM2H allows children under 21, or 21 to 34 if unmarried and unemployed, and DE Rantau allows children under 18 (as of October 2026).68
Whether a child already on a Dependant Pass also needs a Student Pass is not stated officially. The Immigration Department’s Student Pass page lists admission to international, expatriate and private schools among its cases, so ask the school and the Immigration Department before enrolment.51
Japanese Schools (Nihonjin Gakko) and Supplementary Schools
Section titled “Japanese Schools (Nihonjin Gakko) and Supplementary Schools”MEXT lists four certified Japanese schools (Nihonjin Gakko 日本人学校) in Malaysia: in Kuala Lumpur, Johor, Kota Kinabalu and Penang, each run by the local Japanese association or a school committee (list as of 1 April 2026).39 Certified schools teach a curriculum equivalent to Japanese schools, and junior-division graduates qualify for Japanese high-school entry.39
MEXT’s list does not record which divisions each Japanese school runs, so confirm with the school whether high-school-level teaching is offered. Choosing between school types, returnee admissions and supplementary schools (Hoshuko 補習授業校) each have their own guides.
Step-by-Step Administrative Procedure & Timeline
Section titled “Step-by-Step Administrative Procedure & Timeline”Timeline Table: T-12 Months to Arrival
Section titled “Timeline Table: T-12 Months to Arrival”The timeline below is illustrative; official processing times vary. It combines the Malaysian route steps with the Japanese exit procedures, each of which has its own guide.
| When | Malaysia side | Japan side |
|---|---|---|
| T-12 to T-9 months | Choose a route; check age, deposit, income or salary tests; contact schools | Foreign residents: check permanent residence and re-entry permit limits |
| T-9 to T-6 months | MM2H: apply via a licensed operator; after conditional approval, 90 days for deposit, insurance, medical check in Malaysia and LHDN-stamped bond6. EP: employer registers with ESD (or MES) and applies910. DE Rantau: apply online; MDEC estimates 6 to 8 weeks plus about 1 week for the e-Pass8 | Plan pension, health insurance and tax steps |
| T-6 to T-3 months | Gather documents; S-MM2H asks for a good-conduct letter under 12 months old7 | Police certificate (Hanzai Keireki Shomeisho 犯罪経歴証明書) from prefectural police52; Malaysia is not an Apostille party, so Koin Kakunin (公印確認) and Malaysian consular legalisation where required5354 |
| T-3 to T-1 months | Arrange housing viewings and school places | Shipping, pets, driving and appliances; overseas residence registration (Zairyu Todoke 在留届) can be filed online from 3 months before departure13 |
| T-1 month | Confirm pass approval and flights | Moving-out notice, health insurance withdrawal, pension address change, tax representative, My Number card |
| Arrival | MDAC before the flight13; pass endorsement (ePASS and i-KAD for EP)9; stamp the tenancy within 30 days45; tax registration (DE Rantau needs the slip at endorsement)8 | Zairyu Todoke for stays of 3 months or more, through ORRnet to the Embassy or Consulate-General13 |
Japanese Citizens vs. Foreign Residents: Critical Distinctions
Section titled “Japanese Citizens vs. Foreign Residents: Critical Distinctions”| Issue | Japanese citizens | Foreign residents of Japan |
|---|---|---|
| Entry to Malaysia | Visa-free visits up to 3 months (90 days), with MDAC1314 | Rules for their own nationality; Malaysian nationals need no pass |
| Returning to Japan | No residence status issue | Permanent residents must stay within re-entry permit limits or lose status |
| Pension | Keep Japanese coverage options, including voluntary National Pension | Lump-sum withdrawal (Dattai Ichijikin) may be an option |
| Social security | No Japan-Malaysia agreement; EPF and SOCSO apply to locally employed non-citizens313230 | Same Malaysian rules regardless of nationality3132 |
| Police certificate | Japanese certificate52 | May also need one from the country of nationality; confirm per programme67 |
| Consular help | Japanese Embassy and Consulates; Zairyu Todoke required for 3 months or more13 | Their own country’s embassy |
For Japanese citizens the main risks are financial; for foreign residents, a long stay can end Japanese permanent residence if re-entry limits are exceeded, as the guide comparing citizens and foreign permanent residents leaving Japan explains.
Common Pitfalls & Regulatory Compliance Risks
Section titled “Common Pitfalls & Regulatory Compliance Risks”- Using old MM2H figures: the programme now has four categories with US dollar deposits and a compulsory home purchase.611
- Using pre-June 2026 EP thresholds: minimums are now RM5,000 (RM7,000 in manufacturing and related services), RM10,000 and RM20,000 basic salary, excluding allowances and salary paid outside Malaysia.159
- Ignoring EP caps, the succession plan or MES: caps run per employer, position and category, succession plans are mandatory from 1 January 2027, and MIDA-sector employers file through MES.91810
- Calling Malaysia purely territorial: the foreign-income exemption is confirmed only to 31 December 2026, and its fit with treaty-exempt Japanese pensions is unresolved.232426
- Working on a visitor entry, or on MM2H Silver or Gold: work needs the proper visa, and MM2H allows business only for Platinum.136
- Using DE Rantau in Sabah or Sarawak, or an unlicensed MM2H intermediary.86
- Leaving the tenancy unstamped beyond 30 days.45
- Treating a Japanese-language service as a Japanese doctor, or arriving at a private hospital without means to pay.4
- Assuming a Malaysian pass ends Japanese tax residence, resident tax or (for foreign residents) the need to respect re-entry permit limits.
See also
Section titled “See also”Japan exit procedures
- Moving-Out Notification (Tenshutsu-todoke) When Leaving Japan: the city hall filing in the final month before you fly to Malaysia.
- Resident Tax (Juminzei) When Leaving Japan: The January 1 Rule: why your departure date decides whether a further year of resident tax is due.
Cross-border tax and pensions
- Japan Tax Residency: Resident vs Non-Resident (Hi-kyojusha) Rules: the Japanese test that a Malaysian pass does not settle on its own.
- Japan Social Security Agreements: Totalization & Dual Coverage: how agreements prevent double contributions, useful context because Japan and Malaysia have none.
Status and family
- Leaving Japan: Japanese Citizens vs. Foreign Permanent Residents: re-entry permit limits for foreign residents planning a long stay in Malaysia.
- Schooling Abroad: International, Local or Japanese School?: weighing Malaysia’s international schools against a Nihonjin Gakko.
References & Official Sources
Section titled “References & Official Sources”Footnotes
Section titled “Footnotes”-
Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan, 「海外在留邦人数調査統計 令和7年(2025年)10月1日現在」 (published 25 December 2025), https://www.mofa.go.jp/mofaj/files/100957047.pdf (archived copy: http://web.archive.org/web/20260421192127id_/https://www.mofa.go.jp/mofaj/files/100957047.pdf) ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4
-
Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan, 「在外公館等で入手できる具体的な情報・支援一覧 アジア」, page dated 5 August 2026, web.archive.org snapshot of 20 August 2026: https://web.archive.org/web/20260820121437/https://www.mofa.go.jp/mofaj/ca/ha/page25_000836.html ↩ ↩2
-
Consulate-General of Japan in Penang, home page, web.archive.org snapshot of 18 May 2026: https://web.archive.org/web/20260518000218/https://www.penang.my.emb-japan.go.jp/itprtop_ja/index.html ↩
-
Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan, 「世界の医療事情 マレーシア(クアラルンプール、ペナン、コタキナバル)」, page dated 1 October 2024, web.archive.org snapshot of 23 November 2025: https://web.archive.org/web/20251123161054/https://www.mofa.go.jp/mofaj/toko/medi/asia/malaysia.html ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9
-
Japan Club of Kuala Lumpur (self-published), “About JCKL”, fetched October 2026, https://www.jckl.org.my/en/about_jckl ↩
-
Ministry of Tourism, Arts and Culture Malaysia (MOTAC), “MM2H Requirements and Regulations” (guidelines page with category image tables and application flowchart), accessed October 2026, https://www.mm2h.gov.my/apply/guidelines ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10 ↩11 ↩12 ↩13 ↩14 ↩15
-
Ministry of Tourism, Creative Industry and Performing Arts Sarawak (MTCP), “SMM2H Application Guide” (amended 31 July 2025) and requirements page, accessed October 2026, https://mtcp.sarawak.gov.my/web/subpage/webpage_view/262 ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10 ↩11
-
Malaysia Digital Economy Corporation (MDEC), “DE Rantau Pass FAQ Version 10.0 (Aug 28 2026)”, Sections A to E, accessed October 2026, https://www.mdec.my/api/media/file/DE-Rantau_Pass_FAQ_v10.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10 ↩11 ↩12 ↩13 ↩14
-
ESD / MYXpats, “Revised Expatriate Salary Booklet, Effective 1 June 2026” (PDF), fetched October 2026, https://esd.imi.gov.my/portal/pdf/Revised_Expatriate_Salary_Policy.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10 ↩11 ↩12 ↩13 ↩14
-
Malaysian Investment Development Authority (MIDA), “Announcement: Full Rollout of the MIDA Expatriate System (MES)”, 2026, fetched October 2026, https://www.mida.gov.my/media-release/announcement-full-rollout-of-the-mida-expatriate-system-mes/ ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4
-
MOTAC, “MM2H Category & Requirements: Overview”, accessed October 2026, https://www.mm2h.gov.my/category/overview ↩ ↩2
-
MOTAC, “Category: Platinum” (Gold and Silver pages same structure), accessed October 2026, https://www.mm2h.gov.my/category/platinum ↩ ↩2
-
Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan, 海外安全ホームページ 「マレーシア 安全対策基礎データ」 (査証、出入国審査等; 在留届), updated 24 December 2025, fetched directly October 2026, https://www.anzen.mofa.go.jp/info/pcsafetymeasure_017.html ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10 ↩11 ↩12 ↩13
-
Embassy of Malaysia, Tokyo (Ministry of Foreign Affairs Malaysia), “Requirement for foreigners” (official-page excerpt; page not fetchable), accessed October 2026, https://www.kln.gov.my/web/jpn_tokyo/requirement_foreigner ↩ ↩2
-
Kementerian Dalam Negeri (Ministry of Home Affairs), Siaran Media “Dasar Baharu Penggajian Ekspatriat Bermula 1 Jun 2026”, 14 January 2026, https://dmedia.penerangan.gov.my/upload/sm/14012026.1023709201.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3
-
Immigration Department of Malaysia, Expatriate Services Division (ESD), “Revised Employment Pass Salary Policy Effective 1 June 2026” (announcement 266), 15 January 2026, https://esd.imi.gov.my/portal/latest-news/announcement/announcement-266-ep-salary-policy-2026/ ↩ ↩2 ↩3
-
Ministry of Home Affairs, “FAQ: Revised Employment Pass Salary Policy Effective 1 June 2026” (official Q&A, PDF), Q18 and Q27 to Q28, fetched October 2026, https://esd.imi.gov.my/portal/pdf/EN%20FAQ%20-%20NEW%20EXPATRIATE%20EMPLOYMENT%20POLICY%20(EFFECTIVE%201%20JUNE%202026).pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3
-
ESD, “Update on Revised Expatriate Salary Policy” (announcement 278), 26 May 2026, https://esd.imi.gov.my/portal/latest-news/announcement/announcement-278/ ↩ ↩2
-
ESD, “Dependant Pass” (MYXpats key services), fetched October 2026, https://esd.imi.gov.my/portal/expatriates/myxpats/key-services/employment-pass/dependant-pass/ ↩ ↩2
-
LHDN, “Tax Treatment Residents & Non-Residents” (presentation, 2025), fetched October 2026, https://www.hasil.gov.my/wp-content/uploads/T2025_tax-treatment-residents-non-residents.pdf ↩ ↩2
-
Inland Revenue Board of Malaysia (LHDN / HASiL), “Tax Rate” (Year of Assessment 2023, 2024 & 2025), fetched October 2026, https://www.hasil.gov.my/en/individu/kadar-cukai/ ↩
-
LHDN, Public Ruling No. 2/2026 “Tax Treatment of Foreign Nationals Exercising Employment in Malaysia”, 27 March 2026, https://www.hasil.gov.my/wp-content/uploads/pr-2-2026-tax-treatment-of-foreign-nationals-exercising-employment-in-malaysia.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3
-
LHDN, “Tax Treatment in Relation to Income Received from Abroad (Amendment)”, guideline dated 20 June 2024, paragraphs 5.1.2 and 5.2.2, https://www.hasil.gov.my/wp-content/uploads/20240620-guidelines-tax-treatment-in-relation-to-income-received-from-abroad-amendment-june-2024.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4
-
LHDN, Explanatory Notes, Form BE (e-BE 2026), “Additions / Amendments”, fetched October 2026, https://ef.hasil.gov.my/eBE2026/Pdf/Nota_BE_e.pdf ↩ ↩2
-
Bloomberg Tax (secondary, news report; not an official source), “Malaysia Gazettes Order Extending Income Tax Exemption on Foreign Income”, December 2024, search-verified only, https://news.bloombergtax.com/daily-tax-report-international/malaysia-gazettes-order-extending-income-tax-exemption-on-foreign-income ↩
-
Ministry of Finance Japan, “Synthesised Text of the MLI and the Agreement between the Government of Japan and the Government of Malaysia for the Avoidance of Double Taxation … signed on February 19, 1999, as amended by the Protocol signed on February 10, 2010”, Articles 15, 16, 18, 19, 22, fetched October 2026, https://www.mof.go.jp/tax_policy/summary/international/tax_convention/SynthesizedTextforJapan_Malaysia_EN.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5
-
Japan Pension Service, 「租税条約等締結国一覧(令和7年1月現在)」 (PDF), https://www.nenkin.go.jp/service/jukyu/tetsuduki/kyotsu/jukyu/kaigaitenshutsu.files/sozei.pdf ↩
-
Japan Pension Service, 「国別送金通貨一覧 / Currencies for Direct Deposit to Foreign Countries」 (PDF), https://www.nenkin.go.jp/service/jukyu/tetsuduki/kyotsu/jukyu/kaigaikoza.files/CDDF.pdf ↩
-
Ministry of Finance Japan, 「我が国の租税条約ネットワーク」/ treaty list (as of 26 June 2026), https://www.mof.go.jp/tax_policy/summary/international/tax_convention/tax_convetion_list_jp.html ↩
-
Japan Pension Service, 「協定を結んでいる国との協定発効時期および対象となる社会保障制度」, updated 27 October 2025, fetched October 2026, https://www.nenkin.go.jp/service/shaho-kyotei/kunibetsu/kyoteitimesystem.html ↩ ↩2
-
Employees Provident Fund (KWSP), “Contribution for Non-Malaysian Citizen Employees” (employer page with FAQ), web.archive.org snapshot of 25 February 2026 (live page blocked by a bot check), https://web.archive.org/web/20260225120656/https://www.kwsp.gov.my/en/employer/responsibilities/non-malaysian-citizen-employees ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5
-
Social Security Organisation (PERKESO), “Foreign Worker” protection page, fetched October 2026, https://www.perkeso.gov.my/en/our-services/protection/foreign-worker.html ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4
-
PERKESO, “History of PERKESO Chronology” (Kronologi PERKESO), fetched October 2026, https://www.perkeso.gov.my/en/about-us/kronologi-perkeso.html ↩
-
Department of Statistics Malaysia (DOSM), “Household Expenditure Survey Report, Malaysia & States 2024” (released 8 October 2025), Tables 1.3 and 3.1, https://storage.dosm.gov.my/hies/household_expenditure_2024.pdf ; state data file https://storage.dosm.gov.my/hies/hies_state.csv ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4
-
Statistics Bureau of Japan (MIC), 家計調査 家計収支編 二人以上の世帯 年報 2025年, 第7-1表 「都市階級・地方・都道府県庁所在市別1世帯当たり年間の品目別支出金額」 (three Excel files, published/updated 7 August 2026), e-Stat: https://www.e-stat.go.jp/stat-search/file-download?statInfId=000040424636&fileKind=4 ; https://www.e-stat.go.jp/stat-search/file-download?statInfId=000040424637&fileKind=4 ; https://www.e-stat.go.jp/stat-search/file-download?statInfId=000040424638&fileKind=4 (dataset list: https://www.e-stat.go.jp/stat-search/files?page=1&layout=datalist&lid=000001478746) ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4
-
Japan Customs, 「外国為替相場(税関長公示)」 weekly rates applying 18 to 24 October 2026, https://www.customs.go.jp/tetsuzuki/kawase/csv/261018-261024.csv ↩
-
World Bank, International Comparison Program 2021, price level index (actual individual consumption), https://www.worldbank.org/en/programs/icp ↩
-
Ministry of Finance Japan, 「基準外国為替相場及び裁定外国為替相場」 applying in October 2016 and October 2026 (yen per ringgit derived from the US dollar basic rate and the ringgit market rate), as republished by the Bank of Japan, https://www.boj.or.jp/about/services/tame/tame_rate/kijun/kiju1610.htm ; https://www.boj.or.jp/about/services/tame/tame_rate/kijun/kiju2610.htm ↩
-
Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology (MEXT), 「認定した在外教育施設の一覧」, fetched October 2026, https://www.mext.go.jp/a_menu/shotou/clarinet/002/002/001.htm ; list PDF 「認定した在外教育施設一覧」 (令和8年4月1日時点), https://www.mext.go.jp/content/000352298.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5
-
MOTAC, “Category: Special Economic Zone / Special Financial Zone”, accessed October 2026, https://www.mm2h.gov.my/category/sez ↩
-
Dewan Rakyat, oral question No. 48, reply of the Minister of Housing and Local Government on the Residential Tenancy Act, 28 September 2021 (read via Sinar Project’s Parliament document mirror), https://pardocs.sinarproject.org/documents/2021-september-december-parliamentary-session/oral-questions-soalan-lisan/2021-09-28-parliamentary-replies/20210928-par14p4m1-soalan-lisan-48.pdf ↩
-
BERNAMA (Malaysian national news agency), “RUU Penyewaan Kediaman Imbangi Hak Penyewa, Pemilik Rumah Sedang Dimuktamadkan”, 4 August 2026 (Deputy Minister of Housing and Local Government in the Dewan Negara), https://bernama.com/bm/news.php?id=2590055 ↩
-
LHDN, 「Garis Panduan Pengenaan Duti Setem bagi Surat Cara yang Tertakluk kepada Jadual Pertama Akta Setem 1949」 (LHDN.AG.600-1/10/3), dated 30 June 2026, Part A (sewa/pajakan, Item 49), https://www.hasil.gov.my/wp-content/uploads/garis-panduan-pengenaan-duti-setem-jadual-pertama-as-1949.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4
-
LHDN, “Stamp Duty FAQ” (STSDS), https://www.hasil.gov.my/wp-content/uploads/Stamp_Duty_FAQ.pdf ; and HASiL-CTIM Tax Forum 2026 Session 4, “Self-Assessment of Stamp Duty” Q&A (Q78), https://www.hasil.gov.my/wp-content/uploads/kompilasi-soalan-dan-jawapan-hasil-ctim-tax-forum-2026-session-4-self-assessment-of-stamp-duty.pdf ↩ ↩2
-
LHDN, “Penalty (Stamp Duty)”, fetched October 2026, https://www.hasil.gov.my/en/duti-setem/penalti-duti-setem/ ↩ ↩2 ↩3
-
Malaysian Bar (statutory professional body; secondary, quoting the statute), Circular No 444/2024 on National Land Code (Revised 2020) Act 828 Section 433B, https://www.malaysianbar.org.my/cms/upload_files/document/Circular%20No%20444-2024.pdf ↩
-
LHDN, RPGT rates (Kadar Cukai Keuntungan Harta Tanah), last updated 23 June 2026, https://www.hasil.gov.my/en/ckht/kadar-cukai-keuntungan-harta-tanah/ ↩
-
RTM (Radio Televisyen Malaysia, state broadcaster), “KKM susun semula strategi pusat jagaan warga emas”, 5 October 2026, https://berita.rtm.gov.my/nasional/senarai-berita-nasional/senarai-artikel/kkm-susun-semula-strategi-pusat-jagaan-warga-emas/ ↩
-
Laws of Malaysia, Education Act 1996 (Act 550), reprint as at 1 January 2012, sections 15 and 79 (PDF on the MOE site), https://www.moe.gov.my/storage/files/shares/Dasar/Kurikulum%20Kebangsaan/Akta%20550%20-%20Akta%20Pendidikan%201996.pdf ↩
-
Ministry of Education Malaysia, Private Education Division, 「Garis Panduan Penubuhan Sekolah Ekspatriat / Expatriate School Establishment Guideline」 (GP A4), 4 February 2021, https://www.moe.gov.my/storage/files/shares/Bahagian%20dan%20Unit/Bahagian%20Pendidikan%20Swasta/sekolah/garis-panduan-4/GP%20A4%20Sekolah%20Ekspatriat%2004022021.pdf ↩
-
Immigration Department of Malaysia, “Student Pass”, fetched October 2026, https://www.imi.gov.my/index.php/en/main-services/pass/student-pass/ ↩
-
Kyoto Prefectural Police, 「犯罪経歴証明書の申請」, accessed October 2026, https://www.pref.kyoto.jp/fukei/site/kansiki_t/shomei/index.html ↩ ↩2
-
Hague Conference on Private International Law (HCCH), status table, Apostille Convention, last update 30 June 2026, https://www.hcch.net/en/instruments/conventions/status-table/?cid=41 ↩
-
Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan, 「公印確認・アポスティーユとは」 (search-verified; direct fetch 403), https://www.mofa.go.jp/mofaj/toko/page22_000548.html ↩
Copyright © 2026 J-Compass