Bỏ qua để đến nội dung

Japanese-Language Support for Retirees Abroad: Hospitals & Kaigo

Nội dung này hiện chưa có sẵn bằng ngôn ngữ của bạn.

In several Asian retirement hubs you can see a doctor through a Japanese counter, a Japanese interpreter or a locally licensed Japanese doctor, and Japan’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MOFA) publishes post-by-post lists of these institutions.12 Long-term care is different: Japan’s Long-Term Care Insurance ends when you move abroad, and no official list of Japanese-run care homes for Japanese retirees abroad was found.3 This guide maps what exists and what to check before you rely on it.

The Senior Language Barrier: Why It Stops Retirement Plans

Section titled “The Senior Language Barrier: Why It Stops Retirement Plans”

Language matters most where the stakes are highest: describing symptoms, signing consent forms, following a medication schedule and, later, explaining care needs. These are the moments to plan for before you choose a destination.

Research on later-life language learning is still developing: a 2019 review notes that “much remains to be explored”.4 Learning strategy is covered in the guide to foreign language preparation before moving abroad.

Medication is the everyday example. MOFA’s Malaysia page recommends carrying a memo of your regular medicines with their generic names in English and the daily dose.5

What Japan’s Long-Term Care Insurance Covers, and When It Stops

Section titled “What Japan’s Long-Term Care Insurance Covers, and When It Stops”

Long-Term Care Insurance (Kaigo Hoken 介護保険) is tied to an address in a Japanese municipality. Under Article 9 of the Long-Term Care Insurance Act, people with a municipal address are Category 1 insured persons from age 65, and Category 2 from 40 to 64 if they are in Japanese medical insurance, with no nationality condition.3

Status ends the day after your address ends (Article 11(1)), and Category 2 status also ends on the day you stop being covered by medical insurance (Article 11(2)).3 For members aged 40 to 64 on National Health Insurance, the care portion of the levy therefore ends with NHI, as the guide to cancelling National Health Insurance explains.

Benefits attach to designated Japanese providers. In-home care benefits, for example, are paid only for services from providers designated by a prefectural governor, establishment by establishment (Articles 41(1) and 70(1)).3 Care received abroad is therefore not payable: your status has ended and a facility abroad is not designated, a consequence of Articles 9, 11, 41 and 70 rather than a sentence on any official page.3

Premiums stop with status, as Kawasaki and Sagamihara cities explain; Kawasaki notes that a Category 2 premium may continue through employer insurance in some cases, such as where dependants remain in Japan.67

Whether any social security agreement affects Long-Term Care Insurance was not checked here; see the guide to Japan’s social security agreements.

Who This Guide Is For (and What Is Covered Elsewhere)

Section titled “Who This Guide Is For (and What Is Covered Elsewhere)”

This guide is for retirees aged roughly 60 and over and their families, and for long-term foreign residents of Japan weighing a third country.

Neighbouring topics have their own guides. Insurance, the overseas medical expense reimbursement (Kaigai Ryoyohi 海外療養費), medical evacuation and end-of-life planning are in the guide to senior healthcare and medical insurance abroad. Visas are in the guide to retirement visas in Southeast Asia and the destination guides; budgets in the guide to retiring abroad on a Japanese pension; embassy help in the guide to consular services and Tabi-Reg.

The Japanese Service Ecosystem: A Decisive Retirement Selection Criterion

Section titled “The Japanese Service Ecosystem: A Decisive Retirement Selection Criterion”

The Five Layers: Medical, Care, Shopping and Food, Community, Administration

Section titled “The Five Layers: Medical, Care, Shopping and Food, Community, Administration”

Japanese-language support abroad is a private service layer, not an entitlement. It has five layers: medical (hospital desks and clinics), long-term care, shopping and food, community clubs, and administrative help.

Much of it serves the whole Japanese community, not retirees specifically. MOFA’s Thailand page explains that Bangkok’s private hospitals employ Japanese interpreters and set up dedicated counters for the convenience of Japanese patients.2 Expect depth to vary with the size of the local Japanese community.

Community Size Drives Service Depth: What MOFA’s Counts Show

Section titled “Community Size Drives Service Depth: What MOFA’s Counts Show”

MOFA’s annual count of Japanese nationals abroad (Kaigai Zairyu Hojinsu Chosa Tokei 海外在留邦人数調査統計) is an estimate based on residence notifications filed with Japanese missions, as of 1 October each year.89 Taiwan’s figures come through the Japan-Taiwan Exchange Association, which performs consular-type functions there.10

Place (1 October 2025) Japanese nationals counted Change on 2024
Thailand 72,113 +2.4%
Taiwan 21,755 +0.3%
Malaysia 19,690 -1.7%
Vietnam 16,636 -4.4%
Philippines 13,342 +5.5%
Greater Los Angeles (No. 1 city worldwide) 63,972
Bangkok (No. 2 city) 51,297
Honolulu (No. 9 city) 23,254
Taipei / Kuala Lumpur / Ho Chi Minh City (No. 23 to 25) 9,693 / 9,269 / 9,249
Metro Manila / Hanoi / Sriracha (No. 29 to 31) 6,513 / 5,853 / 5,815

Source: MOFA, 海外在留邦人数調査統計 (as of 1 October 2025; read October 2026).8

Over the longer run, several retirement destinations have shrunk. Between 2021 and 2025 the counts fell by 27.8% in Malaysia, 15.2% in the Philippines, 12.7% in Thailand and 10.0% in Taiwan, although Thailand and the Philippines rose in the latest year.8 There is no official series of retirees by country, and Chiang Mai, Penang and Cebu are not in MOFA’s published top-50 city table.8

Japanese Medical Infrastructure: Hospitals with Japanese Desks and Interpreters

Section titled “Japanese Medical Infrastructure: Hospitals with Japanese Desks and Interpreters”

MOFA’s “Medical Situation in the World” pages (Sekai no Iryo Jijo 世界の医療事情) list, city by city, hospitals and clinics used by Japanese nationals and the Japanese-language service they offer.1 Every page is dated; dates and archive captures are given below and in the references.

How Japanese Desks Work: Three Operating Models

Section titled “How Japanese Desks Work: Three Operating Models”

“Japanese desk” covers at least three arrangements, differing in who employs the interpreter, the hours and whether you pay extra (MOFA pages, as of October 2026).25111213

Model Who provides the Japanese support Hours and scope (MOFA examples) Cost to the patient Examples (city)
(a) Hospital-run Japanese counter Interpreters employed by the hospital Bumrungrad counter 7:00 to 18:00, duty interpreter after hours; Samitivej Sukhumvit 7:00 to 20:00; Rama 9 interpreters 8:00 to 16:00; Gleneagles KL Japanese staff 9:00 to 17:00 Free (MOFA: Gleneagles KL); otherwise not stated Bangkok, Chiang Mai, Kuala Lumpur, Hanoi
(b) Japanese doctor or Japanese medical coordinator Japanese doctors with a local licence, or Japanese coordinators supporting visits and admission Bangkok Hospital’s Japanese Medical Service; Bumrungrad doctors with Thai licences; Japanese-run clinics in Vietnam Not stated Bangkok, Kuala Lumpur, Hanoi, Ho Chi Minh City
(c) Separate organisation inside the hospital A Japanese help desk or interpreting counter that is not part of the hospital Booking, interpretation and admission support Separate fee (MOFA: Manila and Cebu help desks); may be charged depending on insurance (MOFA general) Manila, Cebu, Kuala Lumpur (ParkCity)

MOFA warns that interpretation may be charged depending on the support needed, your overseas travel insurance and your insurer (as of October 2026).1112 Some providers also give written help: MOFA notes Japanese medication instructions at Hibari Clinic’s Kuala Lumpur and Penang branches.5

A Japanese desk does not change how the hospital is paid. MOFA says Thai private hospitals are all self-pay (Jiyu Shinryo 自由診療) and may require a deposit, and its Malaysia and Philippine pages say private hospitals expect proof of ability to pay.2511 Insurance and direct billing are covered in the guide to senior healthcare and medical insurance abroad.

Thailand: Bangkok, Sriracha, Chiang Mai and Other Cities

Section titled “Thailand: Bangkok, Sriracha, Chiang Mai and Other Cities”

Source: MOFA’s Thailand page, dated 21 August 2025 and read through an archived copy of 4 September 2026.2 Bangkok is a post with a resident embassy medical officer (Imukan 医務官).2

In Bangkok, MOFA lists five hospitals with Japanese service (as of October 2026).2 Bangkok Hospital runs a Japanese-only outpatient unit with a Thai-licensed Japanese doctor, Bumrungrad International has a Japanese counter and Thai-licensed Japanese doctors, and Samitivej Sukhumvit has a Japanese counter and a Japanese-doctor coordinator. BNH and Rama 9 have interpreters, and MOFA also lists Japanese-speaking clinics and two dental practices.2

In Sriracha, MOFA notes that Samitivej Sriracha has a Japanese-only reception, a Japanese ward and Japanese interpreters, and that Phyathai Sriracha has a Japanese interpreting department (as of October 2026).2

In Chiang Mai, MOFA annotates four hospitals (as of October 2026): Chiang Mai Ram (interpreter daily 8:00 to 17:00, and in emergencies out of hours), Bangkok Hospital Chiang Mai (Japanese and English), Lanna Hospital (Japanese interpreter) and Rajavej Chiang Mai (Japanese phone extension).2

Elsewhere, MOFA notes Japanese at Bangkok Rachasima (Nakhon Ratchasima) and Bangkok Hospital Phuket. Bangkok Hospital Pattaya and Bangkok Hospital Hua Hin are listed with contact details only, so ask before assuming Japanese support there (as of October 2026).2

Source: MOFA’s Malaysia page, dated 1 October 2024, read through the latest available archived copy (23 November 2025); MOFA may have revised it since.5 Malaysia is covered by the medical officer at the Embassy in Myanmar.5

In the Kuala Lumpur area, MOFA lists nine private hospitals with Japanese support (as of October 2026).5 Examples include Prince Court Medical Centre (Japanese hotline and staff), Gleneagles Kuala Lumpur (free consultation and interpretation, 9:00 to 17:00), ALTY Orthopaedic Hospital (medical interpreter) and Mahameru International Medical Center (Japanese doctor); ParkCity Medical Centre is served by an outside interpreting counter. Japanese clinics and dental practices are also listed.5

In Penang, MOFA notes Japanese-speaking staff at three hospitals: Island Hospital by prior appointment, Loh Guan Lye Specialist Centre (four Japanese-speaking staff) and Penang Adventist Hospital (two), plus a Japanese clinic branch (as of October 2026).5 Gleneagles Penang is listed as English only.5

Outside these two cities, MOFA lists no Japanese-language service: Kota Kinabalu’s four institutions are described as English-speaking, and other states’ entries as English only (as of October 2026).5

Philippines and Vietnam: Help Desks and Japanese-Run Clinics

Section titled “Philippines and Vietnam: Help Desks and Japanese-Run Clinics”

Source: MOFA’s Philippines and Cebu pages, both dated 1 October 2024 (archived copies of 16 March 2026 and 29 December 2025).1112 Manila is a medical-officer post; Cebu is covered by the medical officer in Manila.1112

In Metro Manila, the Japanese Association Manila runs a clinic with a part-time Japanese doctor on Wednesdays and Fridays (as of October 2026).11 At Makati Medical Center and St Luke’s Medical Center (Taguig campus), a separately run help desk assists from booking to interpretation for a separate fee, and it also serves Asian Hospital; St Luke’s Quezon City campus has no Japanese note.11

In Cebu, the same model applies: Cebu Doctors’ University Hospital and Chong Hua Hospital Mandaue host a separate, fee-based Japanese help desk, and a clinic company runs counters at three hospitals (as of October 2026).12

Vietnam has a dense layer of Japanese-run clinics. MOFA’s Vietnam page (dated 1 October 2024; archived copy of 31 January 2026) lists ten Hanoi entries with Japanese doctors or interpreters and four in Ho Chi Minh City, including Lotus Clinic, Vietnam’s first Japanese-affiliated clinic (2007) (as of October 2026).13 Large hospitals vary: Vinmec Hanoi has a resident interpreter, while FV Hospital carries no Japanese note.13

MOFA advises foreigners in Vietnam against public hospitals and the public ambulance number 115, which operate in Vietnamese only, and records little Japanese support in Da Nang and Hue (as of October 2026).13

Taiwan: The Japan-Taiwan Exchange Association List

Section titled “Taiwan: The Japan-Taiwan Exchange Association List”

MOFA has no medical page for Taiwan, where the Japan-Taiwan Exchange Association (Nihon Taiwan Koryu Kyokai 日本台湾交流協会) provides Japan’s consular-type services.110 Its 2024 safety handbook lists clinics and general hospitals used by Japanese nationals, as of September 2024.14

The Taipei hospital list is mixed (as of September 2024; still the current edition in October 2026).14 It records English- and Japanese-speaking doctors or staff at National Taiwan University Hospital, Taiwan Adventist Hospital and Mackay Memorial Hospital, and a Japanese-speaking doctor at Taipei Medical University Hospital. Cathay General Hospital is listed with English-speaking doctors and staff only, plus a Japanese-language web page, and Shin Kong Wu Ho-Su Memorial Hospital with English plus a Japanese outpatient booking line.14

Outside Taipei, the list names Japanese-speaking doctors, staff or volunteers at hospitals in Taichung, Hualien, Kaohsiung and several other southern cities, including Tainan, Chiayi and Pingtung.14 The Association states that its list is not a recommendation, that it does not know staff members’ Japanese level, and that Japanese-speaking staff may be unavailable on some days or need a booking.14

Visa routes limit how long you can stay. Japanese nationals are visa-exempt for up to 90 days, not extendable, and Taiwan’s Bureau of Consular Affairs (BOCA) offers a “Visitor Visa for Japanese Retirees (over age 55)”: a multiple-entry visitor visa, not a residence visa, allowing nonextendable stays of 180 days per visit (as of October 2026).1516 Requirements are in the guide to retirement visas and the Taiwan destination guide.

Beyond Asia: Hawaii, Los Angeles and Europe

Section titled “Beyond Asia: Hawaii, Los Angeles and Europe”

Greater Los Angeles has the largest Japanese community of any city in MOFA’s count. MOFA’s Los Angeles page (dated 1 October 2024; archived copy of 15 November 2025) lists about 25 physician and five dental entries across Southern California where you can be seen in Japanese, and notes that some hospitals offer free interpretation if booked in advance (as of October 2026).178 Honolulu has no MOFA medical page; the Consulate-General’s note, last saved in 2013, says several Hawaii providers treat patients in Japanese but gives no list.18

In Europe, Japanese-language medicine clusters in a few cities. MOFA notes private Japanese clinics in London (UK page dated 27 August 2025), Japanese interpreters in Düsseldorf and Munich (Germany page dated 21 October 2025) and a Japanese doctor at the American Hospital of Paris (France page dated 1 October 2024) (as of October 2026).192021

Using the Embassy’s Medical Information Without Overrelying on It

Section titled “Using the Embassy’s Medical Information Without Overrelying on It”

MOFA’s pages are compiled by the embassy medical officers themselves, of whom there are fewer than 100 worldwide, posted mainly where medical conditions are poor.1 MOFA says the pages do not cover every country, are fully revised about every two years and may not reflect the latest information.1

Read every list as a dated snapshot, not an endorsement. Check the page date, then confirm hours, fees and Japanese-speaking staff with the hospital.114 For emergencies, the guide to consular services and Tabi-Reg explains what the embassy itself can do.

Cross-Border Long-Term Care (Kaigo): What Exists for Japanese Retirees Abroad

Section titled “Cross-Border Long-Term Care (Kaigo): What Exists for Japanese Retirees Abroad”

No Japanese Insurance, No Japanese Standards

Section titled “No Japanese Insurance, No Japanese Standards”

Two Japanese protections stop at the border. Long-Term Care Insurance ends with your Japanese address, as explained above.3 Japan’s staffing rule for designated special nursing homes, at least one care or nursing staff member for every three residents on a full-time-equivalent basis, is a domestic ministerial ordinance and binds only designated facilities in Japan.22

In Thailand, care businesses are licensed. Under a ministerial regulation made under the Health Establishment Act of 2016 (BE 2559), elderly and dependent-person care businesses have needed a licence from the Department of Health Service Support (DHSS) since 28 January 2021, with trained and licensed operators and registered care workers.23

In Malaysia, the dedicated statute is not yet in force. The Private Aged Healthcare Facilities and Services Act 2018 (Act 802) was gazetted on 29 March 2018 but is still not enforced, the Deputy Health Minister said as reported by the state broadcaster on 5 October 2026; the Care Centres Act 1993 (Act 506), under the Social Welfare Department, remains relevant (as of October 2026).24

In Taiwan, the Long-Term Care Services Act prohibits discrimination in long-term care services on grounds including nationality and place of residence.25 Whether a non-resident foreigner, such as a retiree visitor-visa holder, can use Taiwan’s public long-term care subsidies could not be verified; ask the local authority.

Japanese-Style Care Exported Abroad: The Asia Health and Wellbeing Initiative

Section titled “Japanese-Style Care Exported Abroad: The Asia Health and Wellbeing Initiative”

The Japanese government promotes Japanese care abroad, but for local populations. The Asia Health and Wellbeing Initiative (Ajia Kenko Koso アジア健康構想; basic policy July 2016, revised July 2018) supports Japanese private care operators expanding into ageing Asian markets.2627

Its partner countries are India, the Philippines, Vietnam, Indonesia, Laos and Thailand; Malaysia is not listed (as of October 2026).28 The materials describe services built with local people and say nothing about Japanese retirees, so “Japanese-managed” care abroad is not a promise of Japanese-speaking caregivers.2628

Japanese-Speaking Caregivers, Japanese Meals and Dementia Care: What to Ask a Facility

Section titled “Japanese-Speaking Caregivers, Japanese Meals and Dementia Care: What to Ask a Facility”

No official list of Japanese-operated care homes for Japanese retirees abroad was found in MOFA’s pages, the Association handbook, the initiative’s materials or Thai and Malaysian official sources (as of October 2026). A Chiang Mai long-stay club says on its own site that local private care facilities for foreign elderly people do not always match Japanese needs on cost, language and food.29 This guide names no facilities; if you consider one, ask:

  • Licence: is the facility licensed under destination law (in Thailand, a DHSS licence; in Malaysia, ask which Act it is registered under)?2324
  • Language by shift: how many staff speak Japanese, and are they on duty at night and at weekends?
  • Medical link: which hospital handles emergencies, and does it appear on the MOFA or Association list with Japanese support?
  • Daily life: Japanese meals, bathing routines and activities, and whether dementia care is offered and by whom.
  • End of life: the facility’s policy on hospital transfer, death abroad and repatriation (planning is covered in the senior healthcare guide).
  • Money and exit: published fees, deposit refund terms and who decides when a resident must leave.

Re-registering an address restores insured status from that day. Under Article 10, a person aged 65 or over (or aged 40 to 64 in Japanese medical insurance) becomes insured on the day they acquire an address in the municipality.3 Care benefits still require certification of needed long-term care (Yokaigo Nintei 要介護認定).

Certification is applied for at the municipality with the insured card, and the decision is due within 30 days unless the municipality extends this with notice (Article 27).3 Plan where you will live before care is urgent; re-registration is explained in the guide to the moving-out notification.

flowchart TD
    A["Moving-out notification filed"] --> B["Address in Japan ends"]
    B --> C["Kaigo Hoken status lost from the next day (Article 11)"]
    C --> D["Abroad: no Japanese care benefits, local law and private payment apply"]
    D --> E["Return and register an address in a municipality"]
    E --> F["Status reacquired from that day (Article 10)"]
    F --> G["Apply for care-need certification with the insured card (Article 27)"]
    G --> H["Decision within 30 days, unless extended with notice"]

Daily Living and Administration: Japanese Clubs, Real Estate Agents, and Visa Concierges

Section titled “Daily Living and Administration: Japanese Clubs, Real Estate Agents, and Visa Concierges”

Japanese associations are private clubs, described here from their own pages. The Japan Club of Kuala Lumpur (JCKL) reports 253 corporate and 1,274 individual members (3,057 including family) as of the end of August 2026.30 Individual membership is for Japanese nationals aged 20 or over, generally with a long-term visa; its published fees for October 2026, under a revision that may be postponed pending Malaysian approval, are RM200 to join, RM85 a month (single) or RM120 (family) plus 8% service tax, and a RM650 deposit (as of October 2026).3132

The Japanese Association of Thailand reports about 5,000 individual and 500 corporate members; individual membership is for Japanese people aged 18 or over living in Thailand (as of October 2026).33 In Chiang Mai, the Consulate-General’s link page lists the Chiang Mai Japanese Association and the Chiang Mai Long Stay Life Club (CLL).3435

CLL, founded in December 2002, is a long-stay club. Its own site reports 95 individual members as of March 2022, down from 134 in 2020, with fees of 500 baht to join and 1,200 baht a year, and offers long-stay consultations and information on medical care, care and housing (as of October 2026).29 The Japanese Association Manila runs the clinic MOFA lists, but its membership rules could not be checked because its site was unreachable.11

The Long Stay Foundation (Ippan Zaidan Hojin Rongu Stei Zaidan 一般財団法人ロングステイ財団) ended its activities and dissolved on 31 March 2026, according to its own notice.36 Its destination surveys will not be updated.

Treat those surveys as historical. A 2014 trade-press report described the 2013 survey as a questionnaire of attendees at the foundation’s events and seminars, which is not a measure of service quality.37

Japanese-Speaking Real Estate Agents and Visa Concierges

Section titled “Japanese-Speaking Real Estate Agents and Visa Concierges”

Japanese-speaking agents are commercial services, and this guide names none. Where registration is required, check it with the local regulator; the Thai and Malaysian regimes could not be verified on official sites for this guide.

A visa agent cannot change the criteria. Taiwan’s BOCA, for example, states that “the issuance of visas is a sovereign power of the state”, and decisions rest with the issuing mission.15 Verify requirements on the official immigration site and in the guide to retirement visas in Southeast Asia.

Japanese retail follows the same communities. The Don Quijote group’s own report shows Donki-group stores in Thailand, Malaysia, Taiwan, Hawaii and California, among others, at the end of its 2024 financial year.38 The JCKL clubhouse in Kuala Lumpur hosts Japanese restaurants and mini-marts, according to the club (as of October 2026).30

Destination Comparison: Japanese-Language Availability Across Retirement Destinations

Section titled “Destination Comparison: Japanese-Language Availability Across Retirement Destinations”

The matrix records what official lists and self-published pages show, with no scores or ranks. Counts are tallies of entries on the dated pages cited; “not found” means no official listing was found (as of October 2026).

Place Hospital and clinic support (source, page date) Long-term care (destination regime) Community clubs (own sites) Japanese post in the city
Bangkok 5 hospitals plus Japanese clinics and 2 dental (MOFA, 21 Aug 2025)2 DHSS licensing; no official Japanese-home list23 Japanese Association of Thailand33 Embassy (medical officer)2
Chiang Mai 4 hospitals with Japanese notes (MOFA, 21 Aug 2025)2 DHSS licensing; club reports a mismatch with Japanese needs2329 CLL; Chiang Mai Japanese Association2935 Consulate-General34
Kuala Lumpur 9 hospitals, 6 clinic entries, 3 dental (MOFA, 1 Oct 2024)5 Act 802 not in force; Act 506 applies24 JCKL30 Embassy (no medical officer)5
Penang 3 hospitals and 1 clinic; Gleneagles Penang English only (MOFA, 1 Oct 2024)5 As Kuala Lumpur24 Not checked Consulate-General5
Manila Japanese Association clinic; 3 hospitals via the Japanese help desk (fee stated for 2) (MOFA, 1 Oct 2024)11 Regime not checked; no Japanese-home list found Japanese Association Manila (rules unverified)11 Embassy (medical officer)11
Cebu 2 hospitals via fee-based help desk; counters at 3 hospitals (MOFA, 1 Oct 2024)12 Regime not checked; no Japanese-home list found Not checked Consular office (no medical officer)12
Hanoi / Ho Chi Minh City 10 and 4 entries with Japanese doctors or interpreters (MOFA, 1 Oct 2024)13 Regime not checked; no Japanese-home list found Not checked Embassy (medical officer) / Consulate-General13
Taipei 7 general hospitals listed, 4 with Japanese-speaking doctors or staff; clinic list (Association, Sep 2024)14 LTC Services Act; foreigners’ eligibility unverified25 Not checked Japan-Taiwan Exchange Association office10
Honolulu No MOFA page; 2013 consulate note says several providers exist18 Not checked Not checked Consulate-General18
Los Angeles About 25 physician and 5 dental entries (MOFA, 1 Oct 2024)17 Not checked Not checked Consulate-General17
European capitals London private Japanese clinics; Düsseldorf list; Paris (MOFA, 2024 to 2025)192021 Not checked Not checked Not checked

Bangkok and Kuala Lumpur, with large Japanese communities, have longer lists than Chiang Mai and Penang.258 Every row dates quickly: MOFA revises its pages about every two years, and the Malaysia and Vietnam pages are dated October 2024.1513

Services cannot make up for a visa you cannot get. For Taiwan, the routes for Japanese retirees found on BOCA’s site are visitor routes, though this was not exhaustively checked (as of October 2026).1516 Check visa feasibility first in the guide to retirement visas and the destination guides.

Step-by-Step Administrative Procedure & Timeline

Section titled “Step-by-Step Administrative Procedure & Timeline”

This sequence covers only the language-support and care steps of a departure plan.

When Task Basis
T-6 months Shortlist destinations using the MOFA page (note its date) and community counts; for Taiwan, use the Association handbook MOFA, Association1148
T-6 months Prepare a medication memo with generic names in English and daily doses MOFA Malaysia page5
T-6 months If you already hold a care-need certification, discuss with your care manager and family whether a move is realistic, since benefits will stop Articles 9 and 113
T-3 months Send a generic enquiry to the Japanese desk: hours, which staff speak Japanese and whether interpretation is free MOFA pages2511
T-3 months Check club membership rules (some need a long-term visa or local residence) JCKL, Japanese Association of Thailand3133
T-1 month File the moving-out notification (Tenshutsu-todoke 転出届); it is normally treated as the care insurance notification Article 12(5)3
Departure Return the insured card (Hihokensha-sho 被保険者証) promptly; if notifying separately, file within 14 days with the card and burden-ratio certificate Article 12(4); Enforcement Regulations Articles 32 and 33339
Arrival Register with the hospital desk, save its numbers, and register with the embassy or consulate Consular services guide
Every year Re-check MOFA page dates and desk hours MOFA index1

Japanese Citizens vs. Foreign Residents: Critical Distinctions

Section titled “Japanese Citizens vs. Foreign Residents: Critical Distinctions”

The care-insurance rule is identical; access to support abroad is not. Article 9 has no nationality condition, so everyone loses Long-Term Care Insurance status on moving out and regains it only with a new Japanese address.3

Issue Japanese citizens Foreign residents of Japan
Kaigo Hoken on moving abroad Status ends the day after the address ends3 Same rule3
Value of Japanese desks The main audience for them Retiring home: may not be needed; retiring to a third country: worth weighing if Japanese is your strongest medical language
Returning for care Status from the day an address is registered3 Same rule once an address is registered; whether you can return and register depends on your residence status (see the guide comparing citizens and foreign residents)
Japanese clubs JCKL individual membership: Japanese nationals; Japanese Association of Thailand: Japanese residents3133 JCKL and the Thai association offer associate membership; CLL welcomes non-Japanese who can communicate in Japanese312933
Taiwan retiree visitor visa For Japanese retirees “over age 55” (BOCA); spouse has no age requirement15 Titled for Japanese retirees; other nationalities should check BOCA15

Foreign residents: check your residence status before counting on a return to Japan for care. The guide comparing Japanese citizens and foreign residents covers what leaving means for permanent residence and re-entry permits.

Section titled “Navigating the Trade-Offs: The Comfort and Limits of the Japanese Expat Bubble”

Japanese-language support can shorten the path to care. A Japanese counter, coordinator or doctor helps at admission and consent, and clubs offer company and information, CLL for example on visas, medical care and housing.2529

The bubble is narrow. In smaller cities it may rest on a handful of hospitals and one or two clubs, so check how many alternatives exist.

Some support carries extra cost: separate help-desk fees in Manila and Cebu, interpretation charges that may depend on your insurer, and private-hospital deposits or proof of ability to pay.21112

The communities behind these services are not guaranteed to last. Several destinations shrank between 2021 and 2025, the Long Stay Foundation has dissolved, and CLL’s own membership fell between 2020 and 2022.83629 Of the five layers, care is the one where no official Japanese-language listing was found at all.

Common Pitfalls & Regulatory Compliance Risks

Section titled “Common Pitfalls & Regulatory Compliance Risks”
  • Assuming a “Japanese desk” means a Japanese doctor. Often it is an interpreter with fixed hours, such as 9:00 to 17:00 at Gleneagles KL or 8:00 to 16:00 at Rama 9 (as of October 2026).25
  • Assuming interpretation is free. Third-party desks charge, and charges may depend on your insurer.1112
  • Relying on an undated list. MOFA pages are revised about every two years and the Taiwan list dates from September 2024.114
  • Assuming Kaigo Hoken or Japanese staffing standards follow you. Both stop at the border.322
  • Choosing a care home without checking its licence under destination law; Malaysia’s Act 802 is not yet in force (as of October 2026).2324
  • Quoting Long Stay Foundation surveys as current. The foundation dissolved on 31 March 2026.36
  • Choosing by services before checking visas. Start with the visa guides; Taiwan’s retiree route, for example, is a visitor visa (as of October 2026).15
  • Treating the desk as a payment arrangement. Ask about insurance and direct billing separately; see the senior healthcare guide.

Retirement and pensioners abroad

Pension and social security

Destination guides: Asia


  1. Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan, 世界の医療事情 (index page, page dated 令和7年6月11日), https://www.mofa.go.jp/mofaj/toko/medi/index.html (Wayback capture 2026-10-04: https://web.archive.org/web/20261004145414/https://www.mofa.go.jp/mofaj/toko/medi/index.html) ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10

  2. MOFA, 世界の医療事情 タイ (page dated 令和7年8月21日), https://www.mofa.go.jp/mofaj/toko/medi/asia/thailand.html (Wayback capture 2026-09-04: https://web.archive.org/web/20260904064239/https://www.mofa.go.jp/mofaj/toko/medi/asia/thailand.html) ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10 ↩11 ↩12 ↩13 ↩14 ↩15 ↩16 ↩17 ↩18 ↩19

  3. e-Gov (Digital Agency), 介護保険法 (Long-Term Care Insurance Act, 平成九年法律第百二十三号), Articles 9, 10, 11, 12, 27, 41, 70; consolidated text, revision enforced 2026-10-01, via e-Gov API, https://laws.e-gov.go.jp/api/2/law_data/409AC0000000123 (viewer: https://laws.e-gov.go.jp/law/409AC0000000123) ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10 ↩11 ↩12 ↩13 ↩14 ↩15 ↩16

  4. Pfenninger, S. E. and Singleton, D., “A critical review of research relating to the learning, use and effects of additional and multiple languages in later life”, Language Teaching 52(4), 2019 (academic), abstract fetched October 2026, https://doi.org/10.1017/S0261444819000235 ↩

  5. MOFA, 世界の医療事情 マレーシア (page dated 令和6年10月1日), https://www.mofa.go.jp/mofaj/toko/medi/asia/malaysia.html (Wayback capture 2025-11-23: https://web.archive.org/web/20251123161054/https://www.mofa.go.jp/mofaj/toko/medi/asia/malaysia.html) ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10 ↩11 ↩12 ↩13 ↩14 ↩15 ↩16 ↩17 ↩18 ↩19 ↩20 ↩21

  6. Kawasaki City, FAQ “海外に滞在する場合、介護保険料を支払う必要があるのか。”, updated 2025-01-06, fetched October 2026, https://www.city.kawasaki.jp/templates/faq/350/0000013068.html ↩

  7. Sagamihara City, FAQ “海外に短期間(1カ月以上)滞在する場合の介護保険料の納付方法について知りたい。”, fetched October 2026, https://www.city.sagamihara.kanagawa.jp/shisei/1026875/faq/fukushi/1000957.html ↩

  8. MOFA Consular Affairs Bureau, 海外在留邦人数調査統計 令和7年(2025年)10月1日現在, PDF, https://www.mofa.go.jp/mofaj/files/100957047.pdf (Wayback capture 2026-04-21: https://web.archive.org/web/20260421192127/https://www.mofa.go.jp/mofaj/files/100957047.pdf) ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8

  9. MOFA, 海外在留邦人数調査統計 index page (page dated 令和8年2月20日), https://www.mofa.go.jp/mofaj/toko/tokei/hojin/index.html (Wayback capture 2026-08-29: https://web.archive.org/web/20260829122859/https://www.mofa.go.jp/mofaj/toko/tokei/hojin/index.html) ↩

  10. Japan-Taiwan Exchange Association, 台湾在留邦人安全の手引き (landing page), fetched October 2026, https://www.koryu.or.jp/safety/safety/guidance/ ↩ ↩2 ↩3

  11. MOFA, 世界の医療事情 フィリピン (page dated 令和6年10月1日), https://www.mofa.go.jp/mofaj/toko/medi/asia/phili.html (Wayback capture 2026-03-16: https://web.archive.org/web/20260316144539/https://www.mofa.go.jp/mofaj/toko/medi/asia/phili.html) ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10 ↩11 ↩12 ↩13 ↩14

  12. MOFA, 世界の医療事情 フィリピン(セブ) (page dated 令和6年10月1日), https://www.mofa.go.jp/mofaj/toko/medi/asia/cebu.html (Wayback capture 2025-12-29: https://web.archive.org/web/20251229150314/https://www.mofa.go.jp/mofaj/toko/medi/asia/cebu.html) ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9

  13. MOFA, 世界の医療事情 ベトナム (page dated 令和6年10月1日), https://www.mofa.go.jp/mofaj/toko/medi/asia/viet.html (Wayback capture 2026-01-31: https://web.archive.org/web/20260131202152/https://www.mofa.go.jp/mofaj/toko/medi/asia/viet.html) ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7

  14. Japan-Taiwan Exchange Association (公益財団法人日本台湾交流協会; Japan’s de facto mission in Taiwan), 台湾在留邦人安全の手引き (令和6年 edition), 資料G 病院 (lists as of 令和6年9月), PDF fetched October 2026, https://www.koryu.or.jp/Portals/0/taipei/2024/1210/20241204_handbook_safetytp.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9

  15. Bureau of Consular Affairs, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Republic of China (Taiwan), “Visitor Visa for Japanese Retirees (over age 55)”, created 2024-05-01, updated 2026-08-07, fetched October 2026, https://www.boca.gov.tw/cp-158-7535-58338-2.html ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6

  16. Bureau of Consular Affairs (Taiwan), “Visa-Exempt Entry”, updated 2026-07-17, fetched October 2026, https://www.boca.gov.tw/cp-149-4486-7785a-2.html ↩ ↩2

  17. MOFA, 世界の医療事情 アメリカ合衆国(ロサンゼルス) (page dated 令和6年10月1日), https://www.mofa.go.jp/mofaj/toko/medi/n_ame/losangeles.html (Wayback capture 2025-11-15: https://web.archive.org/web/20251115032442/https://www.mofa.go.jp/mofaj/toko/medi/n_ame/losangeles.html) ↩ ↩2 ↩3

  18. Consulate-General of Japan in Honolulu, “ハワイの医療事情について” (Word file, last saved 2013), https://www.honolulu.us.emb-japan.go.jp/jp/ryoji/iryo.doc (live URL returns 403; Wayback capture 2025-10-07: https://web.archive.org/web/20251007170146/https://www.honolulu.us.emb-japan.go.jp/jp/ryoji/iryo.doc) ↩ ↩2 ↩3

  19. MOFA, 世界の医療事情 英国 (page dated 令和7年8月27日), https://www.mofa.go.jp/mofaj/toko/medi/europe/uk.html (Wayback capture 2025-11-23: https://web.archive.org/web/20251123165216/https://www.mofa.go.jp/mofaj/toko/medi/europe/uk.html) ↩ ↩2

  20. MOFA, 世界の医療事情 ドイツ (page dated 令和7年10月21日), https://www.mofa.go.jp/mofaj/toko/medi/europe/germany.html (Wayback capture 2026-09-04: https://web.archive.org/web/20260904062555/https://www.mofa.go.jp/mofaj/toko/medi/europe/germany.html) ↩ ↩2

  21. MOFA, 世界の医療事情 フランス (page dated 令和6年10月1日), https://www.mofa.go.jp/mofaj/toko/medi/europe/france.html (Wayback capture 2025-11-29: https://web.archive.org/web/20251129065325/https://www.mofa.go.jp/mofaj/toko/medi/europe/france.html) ↩ ↩2

  22. e-Gov, 指定介護老人福祉施設の人員、設備及び運営に関する基準 (平成十一年厚生省令第三十九号), Article 2; revision enforced 2025-04-01, via e-Gov API, https://laws.e-gov.go.jp/api/2/law_data/411M50000100039 ↩ ↩2

  23. Department of Health Service Support, Ministry of Public Health (Thailand), press release “กฎหมายคุมกิจการดูแลผู้สูงอายุ ประกาศใช้แล้ว”, 3 September 2020, PDF fetched October 2026, https://hss.moph.go.th/fileupload_doc/2020-09-08-1-20-53054880.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5

  24. RTM (Radio Televisyen Malaysia, state broadcaster), “KKM susun semula strategi pusat jagaan warga emas”, 5 October 2026 (reporting the Deputy Minister of Health), fetched October 2026, https://berita.rtm.gov.my/nasional/senarai-berita-nasional/senarai-artikel/kkm-susun-semula-strategi-pusat-jagaan-warga-emas/ ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5

  25. Ministry of Justice (Taiwan), Laws & Regulations Database, 長期照顧服務法 (Long-Term Care Services Act), amended 2021-06-09, Articles 1 and 3, fetched October 2026, https://law.moj.gov.tw/LawClass/LawAll.aspx?pcode=L0070040 ↩ ↩2

  26. Cabinet Secretariat, 健康・医療戦略推進本部 第14回 (29 July 2016), 資料4「アジア健康構想に向けた基本方針(案)」, https://www.cas.go.jp/jp/seisakukaigi/kenkouiryou/suisin/suisin_dai14/siryou4.pdf (agenda: https://www.cas.go.jp/jp/seisakukaigi/kenkouiryou/suisin/suisin_dai14/gijisidai.html) ↩ ↩2

  27. Cabinet Secretariat, 健康・医療戦略推進本部 第22回 (25 July 2018), agenda「アジア健康構想に向けた基本方針」の改定について, https://www.cas.go.jp/jp/seisakukaigi/kenkouiryou/suisin/suisin_dai22/gijisidai.html ↩

  28. Cabinet Secretariat, Office of Healthcare Policy, “AHWIN (Asia Health and Wellbeing initiative)・AfHWIN”, fetched October 2026, https://www.cas.go.jp/jp/seisakukaigi/kenkouiryou/en/torikumi/index.html (project material: https://www.cas.go.jp/jp/seisakukaigi/kenkouiryou/en/torikumi/asia_en.pdf) ↩ ↩2

  29. CLLクラブ (チェンマイ・ロングステイ・ライフの会; self-published), “CLLクラブについて”, “CLLの歴史”, “衣・食・交通・通信・医療・介護”, fetched October 2026, https://www.cll-thaijp.net/cllclub ; https://www.cll-thaijp.net/history ; https://www.cll-thaijp.net/chiangmailife3 ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7

  30. Japan Club of Kuala Lumpur (self-published), “About JCKL” (member counts as of end August 2026), fetched October 2026, https://www.jckl.org.my/en/about_jckl ↩ ↩2 ↩3

  31. Japan Club of Kuala Lumpur (self-published), “How to Join” (membership types, visa requirement, fees), fetched October 2026, https://www.jckl.org.my/en/how_to_join ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4

  32. Japan Club of Kuala Lumpur (self-published), 月会費・保証金の改定について (notice dated 21 July 2026), PDF, https://www.jckl.org.my/storage/news/2026/278_ja_20260721.pdf ↩

  33. タイ国日本人会 (Japanese Association of Thailand; self-published), “タイ国日本人会とは”, “個人会員” and “準会員”, fetched October 2026, https://jat.or.th/jp/about_jat.php ; https://jat.or.th/jp/general_member.php ; https://jat.or.th/jp/foreign_member.php ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5

  34. Consulate-General of Japan in Chiang Mai, リンク page, https://www.chiangmai.th.emb-japan.go.jp/itpr_ja/00_000013.html (live 403; Wayback capture 2026-02-12: https://web.archive.org/web/20260212061949/https://www.chiangmai.th.emb-japan.go.jp/itpr_ja/00_000013.html) ↩ ↩2

  35. チェンマイ日本人会 (Chiang Mai Japanese Association; self-published), home page, fetched October 2026, https://www.cmjpa.org/ ↩ ↩2

  36. 一般財団法人ロングステイ財団 (Long Stay Foundation; self-published), “ロングステイ財団から活動終了のお知らせ” (live site unreachable in October 2026), http://www.longstay.or.jp/ (Wayback capture 2026-04-21: https://web.archive.org/web/20260421231017/http://www.longstay.or.jp/) ↩ ↩2 ↩3

  37. Travel Voice (trade press, secondary), report on the Long Stay Foundation’s 2013 ロングステイ希望国 survey, 16 May 2014, https://www.travelvoice.jp/20140516-21095 ↩

  38. Pan Pacific International Holdings (PPIH; commercial, self-published), Integrated Report 2024, store network page (end of FY2024), https://ppih.co.jp/en/ir/pdf/ar_2024_04.pdf ↩

  39. e-Gov, 介護保険法施行規則 (Enforcement Regulations, 平成十一年厚生省令第三十六号), Articles 32 and 33; revision enforced 2026-10-01, via e-Gov API, https://laws.e-gov.go.jp/api/2/law_data/411M50000100036 ↩